European Division Four Championships begins on Tuesday

Mon, Sep 7, 2009 10:51 AM

Cyprus will host its first major international cricket tournament when it stages the second European Division Four Championships.

The winner of the six-team tournament will gain an automatic promotion to the Division Three tournament in 2011 and the hosts, who played in the last championships at that level, will be keen to make an immediate return.

Cyprus will have five opponents with Finland, the other team relegated from Division Three in 2007, likely to be its chief rival, plus Luxembourg, Slovenia, Austria and Switzerland.

All the games will be played on the three adjacent pitches at Happy Valley, with every team playing on all five days of competition in a round-robin format. Friday is the rest day.

The complete fixture list is given below:

8 September

Cyprus v Switzerland (Happy Valley 1)
Luxembourg v Slovenia (Happy Valley 2)
Finland v Austria (Happy Valley 3)

9 September

Austria v Luxembourg (Happy Valley 1)
Finland v Switzerland (Happy Valley 2)
Cyprus v Slovenia (Happy Valley 3)

10 September

Slovenia v Switzerland (Happy Valley 1)
Cyprus v Austria (Happy Valley 2)
Finland v Luxembourg (Happy Valley 3)

11 September: reserve day

12 September

Switzerland v Austria (Happy Valley 1)
Finland v Slovenia (Happy Valley 2)
Cyprus v Luxembourg (Happy Valley 3)

13 September

Cyprus v Finland (Happy Valley 1)
Austria v Slovenia (Happy Valley 2)
Switzerland v Luxembourg (Happy Valley 3)

For more information on the tournament, click here

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200