Cricket Ireland announces U17 squad for European fixtures

Fri, Jun 25, 2010 2:50 PM

Cricket Ireland has announced its 18-player squad which will participate in the newly-revamped European U17 championships this year.

The new format sees Ireland playing a series of three 50-over games against each of its main European rivals at youth level - Scotland, the Netherlands and Jersey.

Ireland, the defending champions, will be skippered by Andy McBrine, while Ryan Eagleson will coach the side, assisted by manager John Semple.

Eagleson is hopeful of more success for Ireland who have dominated European Champions at youth level over the past decade: "It's a very strong squad, with strength in depth in all the disciplines. The new format will give me a chance to rotate all the squad, so everyone will be given an opportunity to shine at some stage. There are some very exciting prospects in the squad, and I'm sure a number of them will go on to forge a successful career in Irish cricket."

The following players have been selected for the Ireland U17 panel which will take part in the nine game series against Jersey, Scotland and the Netherlands.

Mc Brine, A. (Captain)
Berry, A. (V-Captain)
Adair, R.
Barr, D.
Coghlan, J.
Coughlan, A.
Campbell, S.
Hunter, R.
Kapoor, D.
Mc Carter, G.
Mc Carthy, B.
Mc Clurkin, J.
Mc Kinley, R.
Murphy, T.
O’ Brien, A.
Olphert, S.
Shields, A.
Wylie, B.

The fixtures are as follows:

Ireland v Jersey - August 4 (The Hills), August 5 (Clontarf), August 6 (North County).

Ireland v Scotland - August 10 (Glendermott), August 11 (Eglinton), August 12 (Glendermott).

Netherlands v Ireland - August 24-26 at Kampong (Utrecht).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200