Cricket Ireland announces U19 squads

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 12:56 PM

Cricket Ireland announces U19 squads
Cricket Ireland has announced its squads for the forthcoming European Championships which will be held in the Belfast area from July 22-28, and a four-team tournament in Oxford, which will serve as a warm-up for those championships.

The European Championships have the added importance of being the qualifying tournament for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2012.

Cricket Ireland Operations Director, Mark Garaway, has taken on the mantle of coaching the side in this vital qualifier. Speaking at the squad announcement, he said: "Basically I am looking forward to the Summer Programme - the name of the game for us in this campaign is to be as organised as we can in terms of tactics, options under pressure and playing streetwise cricket.

"We have a number of really talented cricketers, particularly in the bowling department who I am keen to work with on the mindsets and tactics employed by bowlers that I have worked with in the past such as Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, Jimmy Anderson and Graeme Swann.

"The aim for the upcoming matches is to qualify for the World Cup Qualifiers and win the European Championships. The management team of George Dockerell (captain), Shane Getkate (vice captain), Brian Walsh (Manager) and myself will all be working hard to give the players the best chance of success this summer.

"We will be assisted by Jeremy Bray, Ryan Eagleson, Trent Johnston and Tim Simmonite throughout the next five weeks of preparation and competition. Its going to be tough because we are not blessed in batting depth in the same way as the U19 squad that competed in New Zealand at the start of the year and many of the players are also in the U17 squad, but with some hard work and good disciplines, we will give ourselves the best chance of success."

The squad in full is as follows:

George Dockrell (captain), Ross Adair, Adam Berry, Scott Campbell, Eoghan Conway, Jordan Coghlan, Adam Coughlan, Shane Getkate, Ryan Hunter, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, Simon Olphert, Jason van der Merwe.

Mark Garaway (Coach), Brian Walsh (Manager), David Minion/Martin Loughlin (Physio).

The team prepares for the European/World qualifying tournament with a four-team tournament in Oxford.

The games in that competition are as follows:

13th July v Surrey
14th July v Free Foresters
15th July v Middlesex
The squad for that is a follows:

Shane Getkate (captain), Ross Adair, Adam Berry, Scott Campbell, Eoghan Conway, Adam Coughlan, Robert Forrest, Ryan Hunter, Hugh Mac Donnell, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, Simon Olphert, Jason van der Merwe, Manager: Tim Simmonite, Coach: Mark Garaway.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200