Ireland name strong line-up for Bangladesh series

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 3:57 PM

Ireland name strong line-up for Bangladesh series
Ireland have announced a 12-man squad for their two ODIs against Bangladesh next week.

Captain Will Porterfield returns to the side after being unavailable for the World Cricket Division One campaign.

English county duties also precluded Niall O'Brien, Boyd Rankin and Gary Wilson from competing in the Netherlands, but all four will be back in the ranks for the games in Stormont on Thursday July 15 and Friday July 16.

Ireland will hope to return home after retaining their WCL Division One title, having reached Saturday's final – against either Afghanistan or Scotland – with one qualifying game to spare.

Promising young spinner George Dockrell and Andrew Poynter are the only two changes from the squad that acquitted itself well against Australia last month, replacing Gary Kidd and Peter Connell.

Andre Botha and Regan West are the only injury absentees for Ireland in what coach Phil Simmons views as a crucial series.

The West Indian said: "There are crucial ranking points at stake as we attempt to climb the ODI table, and it's a good benchmark for us to play the teams close to us. We're looking for a regular diet of international cricket, and good performances in this RSA series can only help us achieve that.

"We've performed well against Bangladesh in the last two World Cups, beating them in Barbados in 2007, and again last year at Trent Bridge in the World Twenty20. On our own patch and conditions, there's no reason why we can't do it again.”

Ireland have also named their 'A' squad for the European Championships in Jersey from July 13-19.

Albert van der Merwe will captain the side until Andrew Poynter joins up after his duties with the senior team.

Commenting on the European Championships, Simmons remarked: "It's an important competition as it gives the players a chance to claim a spot in the squad for the World Cup next year. There are places on the plane to be had, and it's up to the guys to show me what they can do. They know what a great opportunity this tournament offers them.”


RSA ODI Series versus Bangladesh at Stormont – July 15 and 16 (10:45am each day).

William Porterfield (Captain) (Gloucestershire), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Leinster), Trent Johnston (Railway Union), John Mooney (North County), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Northants), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (Surrey).

Tickets for the above games are available at or at the gate on the day.

A squad for European Championships in Jersey – July 13-19

Andrew Poynter (Captain) (Clontarf), Jeremy Bray (player-coach), (The Hills), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke), Jordan Coghlan (Clontarf), Shane Getkate (Malahide), James Hall (Waringstown), Gary Kidd (Waringstown), Rory McCann (w/k) (Instonians), Graham McDonnell (Railway Union), Niall McDonnell (Brigade), James Shannon (Instonians), Stuart Thompson (Limavady), Albert van der Merwe (v/c) (The Hills), Craig Young (Bready/Sussex).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200