Simmons happy with Cricket World Cup 2011 groups

Thu, Oct 8, 2009 4:34 PM

Simmons happy with Cricket World Cup 2011 groups
Ireland coach Phil Simmons is confident of his side making it to the quarter-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup (CWC) 2011 after Ireland was placed in Group B along with Bangladesh, England, India, the Netherlands, South Africa and the West Indies.

The tougher-looking Group A is headed by defending champions Australia and also includes New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Kenya and Canada. The top four teams from each group will progress to the quarter-finals that will be co-hosted by Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka.

Ireland had an excellent ICC CWC 2007 tournament in the West Indies, after it qualified for the Super Eight stage under coach Adrian Birrell. Simmons coached the side to the second round of the ICC World Twenty20 2009 in England.

He believes the side can create a similar impression this time around as well and said in an interview with the Irish Times: "We never settle on the first round anymore. We've got to get to the second phase of any tournament, that's the benchmark for us."

"I think it might be a little tougher in the other group. It's always good to be put in a group where there are more chances of winning games. Mind you, by the time we get there, I think we will have a chance of winning every game we play," he added.

Simmons believes his side will be much better prepared this time around, with at least two tours to the sub-continent planned before the ICC CWC gets under way in 2011.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200