Cricket Ireland names Women's winter training squads

Tue, Oct 20, 2009 5:45 PM

Cricket Ireland names Women's winter training squads
Cricket Ireland has announced its Senior and A winter training squads. A total of 18 have been named in the senior ranks, while no fewer than 21 have been named in the A squad. Ireland coach Paul Delany reflected on the season just past, and spoke of exciting plans being put in place for both the winter and the 2010 season.

On the field of play in 2009, the Senior side won the European 50 and 20-over championships, while the Under-17s were also victorious in Europe competition. The Development XI also enjoyed a successful debut in the ECB County Championships, winning its division.

Among the measures being put in place by Delany and Cricket Ireland is a much more rigorous winter training schedule led by Tony Hiley, the strength and conditioning coach. Delany also revealed that the squads will benefit from the experience and input of some high profile coaches including Trent Jonston and Adrian Birrell who will be helping out during the winter.

"We've got a considerable pool of young talent and I'd like to think they be challenging for inclusion in the Senior set up in the not too distant future. We're incredibly strong at Under-17 level and if they progress the way I think they will, women's cricket will get even stronger in the next few years."

"We're fortunate to have as many talented players as we have currently in the senior side, and with these new mechanisms in place and greater investment in terms of resources in the squads, I'd be confident of going from strength to strength in 2010 and beyond," he added

The squads in full are as follows:

Senior Women
Heather Whelan (Captain), Emma Beamish, Jean Carroll, Nicki Coffey, Laura Cullen, Laura Delany, Valmai Gee, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Amy Kenealy, Suzanne Kenealy, Sinead Lyons, Carole Maguire, Ciara Metcalfe, Eimear Richardson, Melissa Scott-Hayward, Clare Shillington, Jill Whelan.

A Squad
Laura Boylan, Clare Carthy, Kelly-Ann Carlin, Amy Caufield, Hannah De Burg Whyte, Emma Flanagan, Anna Ferguson, Tracey Fleming, Kim Garth, Eimear Gill, Jennifer Grey, Shauna Kavanagh, Louise McCarthy, Joanne McKinley, Gwen Morgan, Jemma Rankin, Rebecca Rolfe, Sarah Rountree, Emma Ryan, Lucy Small, Amanda Walker.

For more information, click here

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200