DSSC Berlin Win 2007 German Championship

Fri, Sep 21, 2007 2:45 PM

The favourites, DSSC Berlin, successfully defended their DCB club championship title with a 4 wicket win over Bonn CC, who were contesting their first ever championship final, at JHQ Mönchengladbach on Sunday 16 September, making it two final wins in a row and their 5th title win overall - Bonn CC 167 all out off 44 overs, DSSC Berlin 168 for 6 off 46.5 overs. Man of the Match was Asif Khan of DSSC.

Glorious late summer weather greeted Bonn CC and DSSC Berlin in Mönchengladbach. Thanks to the British Army authorities, who had given permission to use their impressive facilities for the final, the ground was in excellent condition and though the outfield was wet from heavy, early-morning dew, Bonn CC, on winning the toss, decided to bat first.

Opener Dilshan Rajudeen immediately took the game to the opposition and although he lost his opening partner, S. Samsudeen, with the score on 6 he found an ally in P. Buwanekabahu and the two kept the score ticking over at 5 an over for some time until the latter was caught behind with the score at 49. Rajudeen continued to hit the ball to all parts of the ground until he holed out to Yasin whose catch put an end to the key Bonn batsman. He had made 75 runs off 72 balls in 117 minutes, hitting 5 sixes and 4 fours.

It was then left to captain, G. Zain, and Toy Samsudeen to take over the mantle as run-getters and try and bring stability to the Bonn team. This they did, Gain made 19, mainly via his favourite cut shots, in his 35 minutes at the wicket and Toy Samsudeen, at the wicket for almost an hour, played some good, well-placed shots, including one brilliant pull-shot for 4. With him at the wicket, Bonn had a good chance of getting the other side of 180 , but he fell, after making 23 runs, as ninth man out, with the score on 166.

Although the tailenders occupied the crease for a fair while and supported Samsudeen, they were not able to contribute significantly to the score, the last four batsman adding only 9 runs between them. In the early stages of the game it looked as though there could well be a 200 plus score, but DSSC held their catches (seven to be precise) and the steady loss of wickets had an unsettling affect on the run-getting. Bonn were left to rue the fact that there were still seven overs to go when their innings closed on 167 all out. Another twenty or thirty runs could have made a big difference.

Chief wicket taker for DSSC was Altaf Rehman with figures of 10-1-44-4, while Javed Rana (6-0-31-2) and Sohil Mian) (10-6-31-2) took two wickets each. Shaubaz Malik was particularly miserly with his bowling, allowing only 11 runs off his 6 overs.

DSSC were faced with the task of 168 to win in 50 overs i.e. 3.36 per over to win. It was a question of patience – if the Bonn bowlers would allow it, of course. In Asif Khan, German national team batsman, who opened with Amir Rafiq (15 runs), DSSC found the cool head and character needed in such a situation. He was not out at the end with 58 (2 fours only), after facing 83 balls and being at the wicket for 204 minutes: a triumph in stamina itself, as he had just kept wicket for over two hours before he had gone in to bat. It was not, however, a foregone conclusion that DSSC would glide to victory.

Bonn also held a number of catches and with 1 wicket down for 24, 2 for 32 and 3 for 39 after 14 overs, there was everything to play for. There followed then a 46 run stand between Asif Khan and Imran Chaudry, who made 30, which began to take the game away from Bonn and this was followed by another stand of 35 from Asif and Tariq Cheema (14 runs). Bonn needed wickets to stay in the game, but instead Asif Khan and Yasin Khan (16 runs) took the score from 121 for five to 160 for six, Yasin’s being the last wicket to fall.

Asif Khan did not get the honour of hitting the winning runs – that was left to Sohil Mian who struck the ball for three runs and victory with 3.1 overs to go.

In general, Bonn bowled tightly as they had to do: Sujewa Abeysekara took two wickets as did Dilshan Rajudeen, while Pradeed Liyanarachenchi and Toy Samsudeen took one wicket each. Toy slowed the DSSC run-rate down considerably with figures of 7-1-20-1.

It was, then, a relatively low-scoring final, but never one without interest; and both teams can take credit for putting on a worthy DCB club final. The supporters who urged on the teams had plenty to appreciate.

Thanks go to the British Army at JHQ Mönchengladbach for hosting the final, particularly John Grinstead and Adam Law who not only saw that everything went smoothly from the ground organisational point of view, but who followed every ball. Thanks also to umpires Paul and Pete Baldwin for the consummate ease and aplomb with which they handled the game. Finally, thanks go to Siggy Franz and Wraye Wenigmann who scored the game using different systems but with the same impeccable results.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200