Ireland and Ten Doeschate short-listed for ICC Awards 2007

Fri, Sep 7, 2007 3:02 PM

The Irish cricket team and Netherland?s star Ryan ten Doeschate are among cricketing heroes from across the globe announced in the short-list for the ICC Awards 2007.

Ireland is in the running for the Spirit of Cricket Award and is the only non-Full member team nominated for an award. It finds itself up against test giants Australia, New Zealand and Sri Lanka but this challenge will hardly unnerve the Irish.

The side has made it through to the final phase of the nominations following its unexpected success at the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup which shook the cricketing-world back in March this year.

The team played with fantastic spirit throughout the tournament, despite being labeled a "minnow" in the early stages. The authenticity of this tag had to be questioned as the courageous side achieved the unthinkable, knocking Pakistan out of the tournament, and progressing through to the Super Eights Series.

Some put it down to the "Luck of the Irish", but there was no doubting the sheer grit and determination that went into every Irish performance. Strong individual performances with both bat and ball laid the foundations but it was the way the side worked as a unit to produce some of the finest fielding on display that proved the defining factor.

The team won the hearts of spectators with its committed, workmanlike performances and jovial spirit. Inspirational captain Trent Johnson's "chicken dance" became a regular sight at the West Indian Stadiums and a favourite with the fans. Perhaps most importantly, the team?s success started a wave of cricket fever back home in Ireland, resulting in a dramatic increase in the interest in the game.

The other European Associate nominee is Netherlands? Ryan ten Doeschate who is up for the Associate ODI Player of the Year, a new addition to the ICC Awards this year. The award serves to recognise and reward the efforts in ODIs of the outstanding cricketer from the six countries outside the ICC Full Members - Bermuda, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, the Netherlands and Scotland.

Two players from Kenya - Steve Tikolo and Thomas Odoyo - and one from Canada (Ashish Bagai) join Netherland?s star Ten Doeschate to make up the four candidates in the running.

The four players nominated for the award, were first put forward by their own country on to a preliminary 18-player nomination list and the ICC Academy then voted on the nominations to select four for the final short list.

The 56-member Academy is made up of captains from the ten ICC Full Members, the ten Emirates Elite Panel ICC Umpires and eight Emirates Elite Panel ICC Match Referees, together with 28 legends and media, comprising journalists and outstanding past players.

South African born Ten Doeschate is of Dutch descent and plays his first class cricket with English County Essex. While playing for the Netherlands in the 2006 Intercontinental Cup in December, he broke a competition record as he made a career-best unbeaten 259 against Canada. He followed this up by topping the Netherlands? batting and bowling averages in the 2006-07 World Cricket League.

In addition to these two awards there are a further seven individual awards, and two more team awards up for grabs.

Ricky Ponting, Mohammad Yousuf, Kevin Pietersen and Shivnarine Chanderpaul have all been short-listed for the top honour, the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as the Cricketer of the Year, to be presented at a gala function in Johannesburg, South Africa on 10 September.

ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed said that the voting process was building towards an exciting event in Johannesburg on 10 September.

"The players that have made it through to the short-lists are all exciting talents who performed exceptionally during the year under review," said Mr Speed.

"The fourth annual ICC Awards night promises to be a fantastic evening with some very interesting decisions set to be announced."

The ICC Awards ceremony, this year presented in association with FICA, is now in its fourth year and this will be the first time it has been staged in South Africa. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005) and Mumbai (2006).

The ICC wishes to thank its commercial partners for the ICC Awards, LG and Swarovski (manufacturers of each ICC Award), and its broadcast partner ESPN STAR Sports.

Those short-listed for the Emerging Player of the Year are:

Ravi Bopara (Eng)

Shakib Al Hasan (Ban)

Shaun Tait (Aus)

Ross Taylor (NZ)

Those short-listed for the ODI Player of the Year are:

Matthew Hayden (Aus)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Glenn McGrath (Aus)

Ricky Ponting (Aus)

Those short-listed for the Test Player of the Year are:

Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)

Kevin Pietersen (Eng)

Ricky Ponting (Aus)

Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)

Those short-listed for the Cricketer of the Year (with the winner receiving the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) are:

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)

Kevin Pietersen (Eng)

Ricky Ponting (Aus)

Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)

Those short-listed for the Associate ODI Player of the Year are:

Ashish Bagai (Can)

Ryan ten Doeschate (Nth)

Thomas Odoyo (Ken)

Steve Tikolo (Ken)

Those short-listed for the Women?s Cricketer of the Year are:

Jhulan Goswami (Ind)

Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)

Claire Taylor (Eng)

Those short-listed for the Umpire of the Year are:

Mark Benson

Steve Bucknor

Simon Taufel

Those short-list for the Captain of the Year are:

Mahela Jayawardena (SL)

Ricky Ponting (Aus)

The teams short-listed for the Spirit of Cricket Award are:



New Zealand

Sri Lanka

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200