ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier schedule Email This Article To Someone!

Wed, Jan 16, 2008 5:41 PM

The ICC today announced the schedule for the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier event which will take place in Stellenbosch, South Africa from 18 to 24 February 2008.

Besides the host nation, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea, Bermuda, Ireland, Pakistan, Scotland and the Netherlands will all vie for the two remaining available slots in the ICC Women's World Cup in Australia in 2009.

Meanwhile, defending champion Australia, India, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the West Indies have all earned automatic qualification for the 2009 event following their top-six finish in 2005 when it was held in Pretoria, South Africa.

Zimbabwe, in its debut appearance, qualified for the ICC WWCQ from the Africa Region, Papua New Guinea managed it from the East Asia-Pacific Region, Bermuda came from the Americas Region, Scotland and the Netherlands emerged from the Europe Region and Pakistan got through from the Asia Region.

South Africa and Ireland were not required to qualify for the Stellenbosch tournament after finishing seventh and eighth respectively in the 2005 Women's World Cup.

The eight teams have been divided into two pools with South Africa, Netherlands, Bermuda and Papua New Guinea forming Pool A while Pool B will comprise of Ireland, Pakistan, Zimbabwe and Scotland.

The top two teams from each pool will qualify for the semi-finals and the winners of those matches will lock horns in the final on 24 February at Stellenbosch University full in the knowledge that they have already qualified for the big one in Australia next year.

Over the course of the seven-day tournament, 20 matches will be played, of which six will be full ODIs. Besides the two semi-finals, final and the 3rd/4th place play-off matches, Pakistan v Ireland game on the opening day at the Stellenbosch University 1 ground and South Africa v the Netherlands on 21 February at the same venue will be official ODIs.

Any matches involving the top 10 teams in women's cricket have ODI status. According to the current rankings, South Africa is in seventh position followed by Ireland in eighth place, the Netherlands in ninth and Pakistan in 10th. The rankings will be revised on the basis of how teams finish in this competition.


Pool A: South Africa, Netherlands, Bermuda, Papua New Guinea (PNG)

Pool B: Ireland, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Scotland


16 February – Teams arrive/opening ceremony

17 February – Training/practice

18 February – Netherlands v PNG, Paul Roos Gymnasium; Bermuda v South Africa, Stellenbosch University 2; Ireland v Pakistan, Stellenbosch University 1; Zimbabwe v Scotland, Van Der Stel Cricket Club.

19 February – South Africa v PNG, Van Der Stel Cricket Club; Netherlands v Bermuda, Paul Roos Gymnasium; Ireland v Scotland, Stellenbosch University 2; Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Stellenbosch University 1

21 February – South Africa v Netherlands, Stellenbosch University 1; Bermuda v PNG, Stellenbosch University 2; Pakistan v Scotland, Van Der Stel Cricket Club; Zimbabwe v Ireland, Paul Roos Gymnasium

23 February (Semi-finals) – A1 v B2, Stellenbosch University 1; A2 v B1, Stellenbosch University 2. (play-offs) – A3 v B4, Paul Roos Gymnasium; A4 v B3, Van Der Stel Cricket Club

24 February – Final, Stellenbosch University 1; 3/4 place play-off, Stellenbosch University 2; 5/6 place play-off, Van Der Stel Cricket Club, 7/8 place play-off, Paul Roos Gymnasium

ICC Women's World Cup:

The ICC Women's World Cup to be staged in Australia in 2009 will be the first to be played under the auspices of the ICC since its merger with the International Women's Cricket Council (IWCC) in 2005.

The Women's World Cup has been running for longer than the men's version and was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the host team, which beat Australia by 118 runs in the final at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Since then there have been a further seven tournaments with Australia winning five of them (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005), England winning once more (in 1993) and New Zealand triumphing in 2000.

The tournament has been staged twice each in England (1973 and 1993), India (1978 and 1997) and New Zealand (1982 and 2000) as well as Australia (1988) and South Africa (2005).

Women's cricket came under the auspices of the ICC and ACC in 2005 when the ICC merged with the IWCC. Before the merger, the IWCC had 15 members and since integration the women's game has grown fast and there are now 51 members with formal girls' and/or women's teams playing in structured cricket competitions.

A further 27 do not have competition teams yet but do have girls in junior development initiatives. That makes 78 of the ICC's 101 members with some women's cricket and it is growing all the time.

The ICC Women's Committee is made up of Betty Timmer (chairwoman), Catherine Campbell (EAP), Belinda Clark (co-opted), Shubhangi Kulkarni (Asia), Kerri Laing (Africa), Clare Connor (Europe) and Carol Whilby-Maxwell (Americas).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200