De Fouw shares Player of Tournament Award

Mon, Feb 25, 2008 12:20 PM

The Netherland's Caroline De Fouw and Sana Mir of Pakistan shared the Player of the Tournament Award at the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier.

Both were outstanding all week for their sides, with Sana Mir helping her country to qualification for the ICC Women's World Cup in 2009.

In the Netherlands' final fixture against European rivals Ireland, the Irish got the better of the Dutch, winning by 66 runs, and claiming 3rd place.

Cecilia Joyce captured the Player of the Match Award for her excellent 65, while Clare Shillington made a valuable contribution of 58.

The Netherlands started well and at 102-1 looked well set to challenge Ireland's total.

But a flurry of wickets, with Ciara Metcalfe and Heather Whelan doing most of their damage, meant the Dutch fell well short of their target.

Elsewhere Zimbabwe took fifth place at the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier with a 161-run defeat of Scotland.

Batting first Yvonne Rainsford top scored for Zimbabwe with a brilliant 69, with good support from Sinikiwe Mpofu (48) and Julia Chibhabha (48*). And skipper Chibhabha was the bowling star for her side as she claimed figures of 4-16.

Papua New Guinea's campaign ended on a winning note when they defeated Bermuda by 45 runs.

Despite only making 119 all out with the bat, with Terry Lynn Paytner taking 4-16, PNG would have always fancied their chances of claiming victory.

And although Bermuda were very much in the game at 53-3, a dramatic collapse meant that Linda Mienzer's side returned home without a single win to their name, with Norma Ovasuru's amazing figures of 10-7-3-4 a key factor in PNG's victory.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200