Niall O'Brien and ten Doeschate in the running for Associate Player of the Year

Mon, Sep 8, 2008 12:23 PM

Ryan ten Doeschate of the Netherlands and Niall O'Brien of Ireland have made the shortlist for the ICC Associate Player of the Year category at the LG ICC Awards 2008 which are being held in Dubai on Wednesday evening.

The European pair is up against tough opposition in the form of two Kenyan cricketers Alex Obanda and Thomas Odoyo, the current holder of the award who is hoping for back to back success.

The ICC Associate ODI Player of the Year category was a new addition to the ICC Awards in 2007 and has been upgraded to the Associate Player of the Year Award for 2008. It serves to recognise and reward the efforts in ODIs and other international matches of the outstanding cricketer from the top Associates.

South African born Ryan ten Doeschate is of Dutch descent and plays his first class cricket with English County Essex. He has had great success with both bat and ball for the Netherlands this year. His 24 not out and bowling figures of 3-23 helped his country defeat Scotland in the semi-final of the ICC World T20 Cup Qualifier, guaranteeing the Dutch a place in next year's big event, where they will face England in the opening match of the tournament at Lord's Cricket Ground.

Irish wicketkeeper Niall O'Brien, who plays his county cricket with Northamptonshire, has had a great year behind the stumps, and with the bat. His highlight was scoring 174 in an Intercontinental Cup match in March helping his country to a 9 wicket win against the UAE.

This year's LG ICC Awards includes eight individual prizes, including a new one for the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year. It also features the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the award to the side that has adhered most to the Spirit of Cricket.

The nominations for six of the awards were made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by West Indies legend Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former Australia captain Greg Chappell, ex-South Africa all-rounder Shaun Pollock, former Sri Lanka opener Sidath Wettimuny and former Bangladesh batsman Athar Ali Khan. This panel will also select the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

The winners of these six individual awards will be voted upon by a 25-person panel from around the world, made up of renowned former players, respected members of the media, and an elite umpire and elite match referee.

Meanwhile, the nominations for the Women's Cricketer of the Year Award were decided after each of the world's top 10 teams was given the opportunity to nominate two players. This award will be voted on by a separate 16-person voting academy featuring former players and other experts on the women's game.

The Spirit of Cricket Award will be voted on by all the international captains as well as all members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. The Umpire of the Year Award is voted on by the captains and the match referees.

This year sees the introduction of a new award, the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year Award, which will mark an outstanding individual effort in this newest format of the international game.

Based on the 12 months between 9 August 2007 and 12 August 2008, the LG ICC Awards 2008 - presented in association with FICA - will take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game. That period includes the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 2007 in South Africa.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its fifth year and this will be the first time it has been staged in Dubai. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006) and Johannesburg (2007).

V Ramchandran, director of marketing at LG Electronics India Ltd said: “The LG ICC Awards are a celebration and acknowledgement of the best cricketing performances the world has seen over the past 12 months or so. The LG brand also stands for the highest level of performance and therefore LG is very proud to be involved in celebrating such a prestigious occasion."

The shortlists for the LG ICC Awards 2008 are as follows:

Cricketer of the Year

Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Mahela Jayawardena

Graeme Smith

Dale Steyn

Test Player of the Year

Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Mahela Jayawardena

Jacques Kallis

Dale Steyn

ODI Player of the Year

Nathan Bracken

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Sachin Tendulkar

Mohammad Yousuf

Emerging Player of the Year

Stuart Broad

Ajantha Mendis

Morne Morkel

Ishant Sharma

Associate Player of the Year

Ryan ten Doeschate

Alex Obanda

Niall O'Brien

Thomas Odoyo

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Chris Gayle

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Brett Lee

Yuvraj Singh

Women's Player of the Year

Nicola Browne

Charlotte Edwards

Lisa Sthalekar

Claire Taylor

Spirit of Cricket


New Zealand

Sri Lanka

West Indies

Umpire of the Year

Mark Benson

Aleem Dar

Steve Davis

Rudi Koertzen

Simon Taufel

More information including the names of the previous winners can be found in the Awards section of the ICC website

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200