Schedule announced for ICC European Division 1 Championship

Fri, Mar 7, 2008 12:47 PM

ICC Europe has today announced the schedule and venues for the ICC European Division 1 Championship to be held in Ireland from the 25th to the 31st July 2008.

The 50 over round robin tournament will see Europe's top 6 Associate and Affiliate countries - Denmark, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway and Scotland fight it out for Europe's top spot.

Six cricket grounds will be used to host a total of fifteen matches that will see each country come face to face over five days.

Current European champions Ireland will be looking to retain their title on home soil, and the side's campaign will begin against tournament newcomer Norway who they play at The Hills Cricket Club on the 25th July.

ICC Affiliate Member Norway gained promotion to Division 1 after finishing top of Division 2 in 2006, overcoming second place Jersey, and other associate members including France, Gibraltar and Israel.

The other opening matches will see Denmark face Scotland at Malahide CC and Italy take on the Netherlands at North County CC.

Irish Cricket Union Chief Executive, Warren Deutrom commented on Ireland's hopes for the tournament saying:

"Winning the European Championships and retaining the title is still a hugely important goal for Ireland. Although last year's World Cup success gave us an exciting glimpse of the world beyond, we still consciously compare ourselves to our European neighbours, particularly our counterparts in ICC's High Performance Programme. If nothing else, the fierce competition among traditional rivals makes for highly competitive cricket which, in turn, helps raise the bar for European cricket."

ICC European Development Manager, Richard Holdsworth who will act as Tournament Director commented,

"This is Europe's showpiece event in the tournament calendar and with the region containing three One Day International teams, there will be three ODI's as part of the event. It will be a tough challenge for the likes of Norway and Italy to compete against these highly world ranked countries, but is what the ICC Development Program is all about, and they deserve their chance to compete with the best."

He added "In Ireland hosting this event, we are truly grateful. They have become experts in hosting such events, and their facilities improve each year, which the participating countries will benefit from."

Ireland will go on to host the ICC Twenty20 World Cup Qualifier at Stormont in August 2008. Two finalists from the participating nations Bermuda, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, the Netherlands and Scotland will qualify for the second ICC Twenty20 World Cup in England in 2009.

ICC European Division 1 Championship schedule

Friday 25th July 2008

Ireland v Norway, The Hills CC

Scotland v Denmark, Malahide CC

Netherlands v Italy, North County CC

Saturday 26th July 2008

Ireland v Denmark, Leinster CC

Scotland v Italy, The Hills CC

Netherlands v Norway, North County CC

Monday 28th July 2008

Ireland v Netherlands, Clontarf CC

Scotland v Norway, Leinster CC

Denmark v Italy, Merrion CC

Tuesday 29th July 2008

Scotland v Netherlands, Clontarf CC

Ireland v Italy, Malahide CC

Denmark v Norway, North County CC

Thursday 31st July 2008

Ireland v Scotland, Clontarf CC

Netherlands v Denmark, The Hills CC

Norway v Italy, Malahide CC

ICC European Tournament Schedule 2008

ICC European Indoor Championship

8-10 February, Kuortane, Finland

Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Hellas, Luxembourg, Portugal

Winner: Denmark

ICC European Under 17 Division 1 Championship

14-17 July, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Denmark, Guernsey, Ireland, Jersey, The Netherlands, Scotland

ICC European Division 1 Championship

25-31 July, Dublin, Ireland

Denmark, Ireland, Italy, Norway, The Netherlands, Scotland

ICC European Under 15 Division 1 Championship

4-7 August, Jersey

Denmark, Guernsey, Ireland, Jersey, The Netherlands, Scotland

ICC European Under 19 Division 1 Championship

5-7 August, Scotland

Denmark, Ireland, The Netherlands, Scotland

ICC European Under 17 Division 2 Championship

9-15 August, Germany

Belgium, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hellas, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Spain, Switzerland

ICC European Division 2 Championship

18-23 August, Guernsey

Croatia, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Jersey

ICC European A Team Championship

26-28 August, The Netherlands

Denmark, Ireland, The Netherlands, Scotland

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200