First County win for Scots U17s

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 4:12 PM

Scotland's U17s secured their first win in the ECB Championships with a dramatic last-over run chase against Suffolk at Bury St Edmunds on Tuesday (July 8).

After day one was wiped out by heavy rain, the match was reduced to 60 overs-a-side. Scotland won the toss and elected to bowl. A threatening opening spell by Safyan Sharif and Matthew Bremner was let down by crucial dropped catches, and Suffolk cruised to 158 without loss. Off-spinner Craig Ramsay finally got the crucial breakthrough, dismissing one of the openers for 51. The momentum then swung to the Scots, who took regular wickets thanks to tight bowling and highly impressive ground fielding. The other Suffolk opener made 142, hitting some lusty blows before being yorked by Bremner before the innings closed on an impressive 288 for 7.

In reply, Scotland opener Freddie Coleman got off to the best possible start, scoring 38 from just 29 balls before being bowled. Steady middle-order partnerships involving Callum Howard, Anjan Luthra (54) and Richie Lamb (50) kept the scoreboard ticking over; but tight bowling by Suffolk tied Scotland down. Needing 100 from 14 overs, the late order picked up the run-rate, as first skipper Calvin Burnett then Michael Leask scored successive boundaries. Suffolk, however, continued to take wickets, leaving Numbers 9 and 10 facing the last two overs. With eight still required from four balls, Sharif smashed an enormous six, followed by a powerfully struck four to send the Scots wild.

Suffolk 288 for seven, 7 points; Scotland 291 for eight, 17 points.

Scotland now travel slightly further north to play Norfolk on Thursday and Friday, having already played Cumbria in an abandoned game at Greenock last week, from which Scotland took 5 points.

Meanwhile, the selectors have chosen the Scotland squad to play in the U17 European Championships in Belfast next week, starting on Monday (July 14). The squad is: Calvin Burnett (captain), Craig Ramsay (both Arbroath); Anjan Luthra (Ferguslie); William Rowan (Prestwick); Matthew Bremner, Safyaan Sharif (Dunfermline); Oliver Hairs, Sam Hunt (Grange); Richie Lamb (Aberdeenshire); Michael Leask (Stoneywood Dyce); Patrick Sadler (Corstorphine); Freddie Coleman (Penicuik); Aman Bailwal (Forfarshire).

Craig Wright is the squad coach, and Alan Patterson is the manager. The match schedule is as follows:

Group A: July 14: Denmark v Scotland (Holywood); July 15: Scotland v Guernsey (Downpatrick); July 16: Guernsey v Denmark (Belmont, Belfast).

Group B: July 14: Ireland v Netherlands (Downpatrick); July 15: Jersey v Ireland (Saintfield); July 16: Netherlands v Jersey (Comber).

Play-offs (July 17): A1 v B1 (Stormont); A2 v B2 (Bangor); A3 v B3 (Saintfield).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200