Ryan ten Doeschate wins ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year 2010

Wed, Oct 6, 2010 4:14 PM

Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate has become the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year at the LG ICC Awards in Bengaluru.

The voting academy chose ten Doeschate over other top Associate and Affiliate players including Afghanistan's Mohammed Shahzad and the Ireland duo of Trent Johnston and Kevin O'Brien. It is the second time ten Doeschate has claimed the award, the first time he picked up the title was in 2008.

During the 12-month voting period, all-rounder ten Doeschate played for the Netherlands in five ODIs making one century and three half-centuries. His batting average was 121.33 for the period with a strike rate of 79.30.

In the one ICC Intercontinental Cup fixture played by the Dutchman during the voting period, ten Doeschate scored 212 not out versus Kenya, striking 22 fours and seven sixes in his first innings and 29 in his second while claiming 7-174 in the game with his skills as a medium-pace bowler.

The 30-year-old Essex player also played in four Twenty20 Internationals for his country scoring a total of 94 runs at an average of 47.

Ten Doeschate was unable to attend the award but upon hearing the news of winning the second ICC award of his career said: "I'm really upset that I am unable to attend tonight's ceremony to accept my second ICC award. I feel extremely privileged to be once again recognised by the ICC and the Voting Academy for my performances this year.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank the KNCB and my team-mates as well as the ICC for the continued support it shows to Associate and Affiliate cricket."

The Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year Award was one of nine individual prizes given at this year's LG ICC Awards. It was announced by Zaheer Khan.

The Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award serves to recognise and reward the efforts in all international matches of the outstanding cricketers from the teams outside the ICC Full Members.

Based on the period between 24 August 2009 and 10 August 2010, the LG ICC Awards 2010 – presented in association with FICA – take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC Men's and Women's World Twenty20 2010 in West Indies, the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 in South Africa and the ICC World Cricket League Division 1 2010 in the Netherlands, as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its seventh year and this year is being held in Bengaluru. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200