Sri Lankans CC thrash Mustangs CC to win Cyprus Cricket 2010 Twenty20 Cup

Tue, Oct 5, 2010 4:19 PM

Kapila Wickramathanthrigie starred with a dazzling all-round performance as Sri Lankans CC beat Mustangs CC to win the Cyprus Cricket 2010 Twenty20 Cup by 71 runs.

Mustangs CC dominated initially, reducing Sri Lankans CC to 34 for 3, before Kapila's fighting innings of 58 runs lifted his side to a match winning total. He then returned for a masterful spell, jolting Mustang’s chase with two wickets.

The match was won and lost in the last ten overs of Sri Lankans CC innings, and it was Kapila who imposed himself on the game-breaking moments.

He walked in with Sri Lankans wobbling and proceeded to gradually pull them out of the hole before shifting gears to boost them to a winning score.

Kapila went for safety first option and scored just 12 runs off the first 22 deliveries faced – but then he upped the ante with precise and forceful blows in the final overs. Kapila received good support from Nalaga Agathocleous (15) and skipper Asanka Dharamapla (16) as Sri Lankans finished on 158 runs for 6 wickets.

Mustangs started well in their chase and reached the half way with 53 runs on the board and 7 wickets in hand.

Mustangs Achilles heel is their lower order. With hard hitting Hardeep Johal and in-form skipper Gabby Brar on the crease, a close finish was expected. However, after Hardeep Johal (25) fell to Ushan Silva, Kapila suffocated the Mustangs with his left arm chinaman and Udumulle Sirithunga sustained the pressure with a disciplined spell of 3 wickets for 8 runs, as the Sri Lankans bundled out the Mustangs for 87 runs.

A delighted Sri Lankans CC captain Asanka Dharamapla applauded his player’s efforts “the players put in a lot of effort throughout the tournament and this cup win is made possible because of the hard work put in by them. We have quite a few experienced players in our side and it makes my life a lot easier as captain."

Mustangs captain Gaby Brar was most appreciative of Cyprus Cricket Association for organizing a successful and memorable tournament. “This is our debut season and our team thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We are grateful to Cyprus Cricket Association for giving us the chance."

Kapila Wickramathanthrigie for his impressive performances throughout the event was awarded the Player of the Tournament memento, as he helped the Sri Lankans CC stay unbeaten throughout the competition.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200