Ireland’s Paul Stirling nominated in two categories at LG ICC Awards 2010

Wed, Aug 18, 2010 10:31 AM

The International Cricket Council today have announced the long-lists for the seventh annual LG ICC Awards 2010 and Ireland's Paul Stirling has been named in two categories for the ceremony, which is set to be staged in Bengalura, India on 6 October presented in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA).

Stirling has been nominated on the long list for the Emerging Player of the Year award; to be eligible a player must be under the age of 26 and have played fewer than five Tests and/or 10 ODIs as the start of the voting period.

The other category is The Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award which serves to recognise and reward the efforts in all international matches of the outstanding cricketers from the teams outside the ICC Full Members. This year, Ireland boasts the most number of nominees with three names on the list of Trent Johnson and Kevin O'Brien, alongside Stirling. Europe features strongly in this category with the Netherlands' Ryan ten Doeschate, Tom Cooper and Muddassar Bukhari and Scotland's Richie Berrington. Completing the list is Afghanistan's Mohammad Shahzad and Samiullah Shenwari with two nominations each and finally, Canada's Ashish Bagai.

ICC Regional Development Manager, Richard Holdsworth was delighted with the nominations: "I think it's fantastic for Paul Stirling to be nominated in two separate categories and to be recognised alongside some of the leading emerging players in the Full Members, it proves how far the development of Associate cricket has progressed. I would like to also congratulate all the nominees for making it on to the long list of the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year category, I wish them all the best of luck."

In the other categories Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag from India, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena feature prominently in the long-lists.

For the first time, this year's awards feature a new category, the LG People's Choice Award. This award will be chosen by cricket fans around the world who will get a chance to vote for their favourite player online from a short-list of five cricketers who will be selected by the ICC selection panel on the basis of some innovative parameters, in sync with the values that embody the LG brand.

The selection panel will nominate the five LG People's Choice Awards candidates and the names will be posted on on 23 August. Cricket fans will then have an opportunity to vote for the cricketer of their choice online until 10 September.

Based on the period between 24 August 2009 and 10 August 2010, the LG ICC Awards 2010 – presented in association FICA – will take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 in South Africa, ICC World Twenty20 2010 in the West Indies and the ICC World Cricket League Division 1 2010 in the Netherlands as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its seventh year and this year it will be held in Bengaluru, India. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008).

LG ICC Awards 2010

Long-lists of nominees (in alphabetical order; each category will be reduced to a short-list in due course)

Individual Awards

Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Morne Morkel (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Shane Watson (Aus)

Test Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
James Anderson (Eng)
Mohammad Asif (Pak)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tamim Iqbal (BD)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Simon Katich (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)

ODI Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tillekeratne Dilshan (SL)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Cameron White (Aus)

Emerging Player of the Year

Mohammad Amir (Pak)
Umar Akmal (Pak)
Tim Bresnan (Eng)
Steven Finn (Eng)
Shafiul Islam (BD)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
Angelo Mathews (SL)
Eoin Morgan (Eng)
Pragyan Ojha (Ind)
Tim Paine (Aus)
Wayne Parnell (SA)
Kemar Roach (WI)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Paul Stirling (Ire)
David Warner (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Ashish Bagai (Can)
Richie Berrington (Scot)
Muddassar Bukhari (Neth)
Tom Cooper (Neth)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Neth)
Trent Johnston (Ire)
Kevin O'Brien (Ire)
Mohammad Shahzad (Afg)
Samiullah Shenwari (Afg)
Paul Stirling (Ire)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Suleiman Benn (WI) – 4-2-6-4 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, 28 Feb 2010
Deandra Dottin (WI Women) – 112 not out (45b, 7x4, 9x6) v South Africa Women, Basseterra, 5 May 2010
Chris Gayle (WI) – 98 (66b, 5x4, 7x6) v India, Bridgetown, 9 May 2010
Michael Hussey (Aus) – 60 not out (24b, 3x4, 5x6) v Pakistan, St Lucia, 14 May 2010
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) – 100 (64b, 10x4 4x6) v Zimbabwe, Guyana, 3 May 2010
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) – 98 not out (56b 9x4, 4x6) v West Indies, Bridgetown, 7 May 2010
Nuwan Kulasekera (SL) – 3-1-4-3 v New Zealand, Lauderhill, 23 May 2010
Ryan McLaren (Aus) – 3-0-19-5 v West Indies, North Stand, 19 May 2010
Brendon McMcllum (NZ) – 116 not out (56b, 12x4, 8x6) v Australia, Christchurch, 28 Feb 2010
Eoin Morgan (Eng) – 85 not out (45b, 7x4, 5x6) v South Africa, Johannesburg, 13 Nov 2009
Nehemiah Odhiambo (Zim) – 4-0-20-5 v Scotland, Nairobi, 4 Feb 2010
Ellyse Perry (Aus Women) – 4-0-18-3 v New Zealand Women, Barbados, 16 May 2010
Suresh Raina (Ind) – 101 (60b, 9x4, 5x6) v South Africa, St Lucia, 2 May 2010
Darren Sammy (WI) – 3.5-0-26-5 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, 28 Feb 2010

Women's Cricketer of the Year

Suzie Bates (NZ)
Nicola Browne (NZ)
Katherine Brunt (Eng)
Sophie Devine (NZ)
Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Lydia Greenway (Eng)
Sarah McGlashan (NZ)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Ellyse Perry (Aus)
Laura Poulton (Aus)
Mithali Raj (Ind)
Gouher Sultana (Ind)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Umpire of the Year

Billy Bowden
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Asoke de Silva
Billy Doctrove
Marais Erasmus
Ian Gould
Tony Hill
Daryl Harper
Rudi Koertzen
Asad Rauf
Simon Taufel
Rod Tucker

More information including the names of the previous winners can be found on the ICC Global website

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200