Ireland squad announced for next month's Netherlands clash

Mon, Aug 2, 2010 12:13 PM

Cricket Ireland have announced their squad for the Intercontinental Cup and RSA Series one-day internationals against The Netherlands next month.

With William Porterfield unavailable due to county commitments with Gloucestershire, Trent Johnston takes over the captaincy duties once again.

Ireland are also without Niall O’Brien who underwent surgery on his damaged finger last week, and is expected to be out of action for around two months. Opening bowler Boyd Rankin is required by Warwickshire, and won’t be travelling over for the games.

Surrey’s Gary Wilson, who top scored for Ireland in their last ODI against Bangladesh, is available and will keep wicket in O’Brien’s absence.

The squad in full is as follows:
• Trent Johnston (captain) (Railway Union)
• Alex Cusack (Clontarf)
• George Dockrell (Leinster)
• James Hall (Waringstown)
• Nigel Jones (Civil Service North) – ODI’s only
• John Mooney (North County)
• Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union)
• Paul Stirling (Middlesex)
• Albert van der Merwe (The Hills)
• Andrew White (Instonians)
• Gary Wilson (Surrey)
• Craig Young (Bready/Sussex)

Entry to the Intercontinental Cup clash at Rathmines (Leinster CC), is free with play on all four scheduled days –August 11-14 – getting under way at 11am.

Ticket prices for the RSA one-day internationals at Clontarf on Monday August 16 and Wednesday August 18 (10:45am start) are as follows:
Adults - €10 or €15 (two match deal)
Assoc/Life - €8 or €12 (two match deal)
OAP - €7or €10 (two match deal)
Under 16’s – free entry

Tickets can be purchased on or at the gate on the day of the match. Cricket Ireland members wishing to book tickets in advance can do so by contacting Sue Wickham on ph: +353 1 8947914 or via email

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200