Cricket Ireland announce Ireland A squad

Wed, Jul 28, 2010 12:34 PM

Cricket Ireland announced this morning a squad of 12 for their forthcoming clash with MCC next week. The fixture takes place at Trinity College Dublin between Tuesday August 3 and Thursday August 5.

There is just the one new face in the ranks, with Pembroke fast bowler Allan Eastwood gaining recognition after impressing former Ireland senior coach Adi Birrell in recent times.

Five of the side have played for the senior international side, with Albert van der Merwe from The Hills being given the captaincy role once again.

Play on all three days starts at 11am, and entry to the game is free.

Ireland v MCC at Trinity College - Tuesday August 3- Thursday August 5 - Match starts at 11 am

The squad in full is as follows:
•Albert Van der Merwe (capt) (The Hills)
•Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke)
•Allan Eastwood (Pembroke)
•James Hall (Waringstown)
•Rory McCann (Instonians)
•Graham McDonnell (Railway Union)
•Niall McDonnell (Brigade)
•Eddie Richardson (North County)
•James Shannon (Instonians)
•Reinhardt Strydom (YMCA)
•Stuart Thompson (Limavady)
•Craig Young (Bready/Sussex)
•Jeremy Bray (Coach)
•Gavin Craig (Manager)

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200