ICC European Division 2 Fixtures announced

Fri, Jun 10, 2011 10:07 PM

The ICC European Division 2 Championship begins this month in Belgium, as the eleven teams fight it out for two places to take them one step further along the ICC World Twenty20 qualifying path.

Belgium are welcoming teams from across the continent which include Austria, Cyprus, Finland, Hellas, Isle of Man, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Spain, Division 3 winner, Sweden and hosts Belgium.

The ICC European Division 2 Championship is a pathway event to the ICC World Twenty20 2012, with the winner and runner-up of this tournament taking their place in the ICC European Division 1 Championship co-hosted by Jersey and Guernsey in July.

The tournament is taking place between the 20-25 June, 2011 at four venues across Belgium; Royal Brussels, Ghent, Mechelen and Ostend.

Host Tournament Organiser, Martin O’Connor has led a fantastic team and is very pleased with the work done in the build up to the tournament, “This is a very large tournament with so many countries participating and one of great importance with two places in the ICC European Division 1 at stake.

“We will expect to see quite a few countries raising their game to a new level and setting a very high competitive standard. Our aim is to provide a platform on which both cricket and players can flourish and hope everyone will enjoy the tournament and the opportunities it offers both on and off the field,” concluded O’Connor.


Group A

20 June; Cyprus v Finland, Ghent (1030); Isle of Man v Luxembourg, Ostend (1030);
21 June; Portugal v Luxembourg, Royal Brussels (1030); Cyprus v Isle of Man, Ghent (1030); Luxembourg v Cyprus, Royal Brussels (1530)
22 June; Finland v Portugal, Royal Brussels (1030); Finland v Isle of Man, Royal Brussels (1530)
23 June; Portugal v Isle of Man, Mechelen (1030); Luxembourg v Finland, Ghent (1030); Portugal v Cyprus, Mechelen (1530)

Group B

20 June; Malta v Hellas, Mechelen (1030); Spain v Sweden, Royal Brussels (1030); Belgium v Austria, Mechelen (1530); Sweden v Hellas, Royal Brussels (1530)
21 June; Malta v Spain, Mechelen (1030); Belgium v Sweden, Ghent (1530); Spain v Austria, Mechelen (1530)
22 June; Malta v Austria, Ghent (1030); Hellas v Belgium, Ostend (1030) Sweden v Malta, Ghent (1530); Hellas v Spain, Ostend (1530)
23 June; Belgium v Spain, Royal Brussels (1030); Austria v Sweden, Ostend (1030); Belgium v Malta, Royal Brussels (1530); Austria v Hellas, Ostend (1530)

Cross over semis, play offs & Final

24 June; A1st v B2nd, Ground TBC (1030); A2nd v B1st, Ground TBC (1030); A5th v B6th, Ground TBC (1030); A3rd v B4th, Ground TBC (1530); A4th v B3rd, Ground TBC (1530)

25 June; 3rd/4th play-off, Royal Brussels (1030); 5th/6th play-off, Ground TBC (1030); B5th v B6th, Ground TBC (1030); Final 1st/2nd, Royal Brussels (1430); 7th/8th play-off, Ground TBC (1430); B5th v A5th, Ground TBC (1430)

For further information on the tournament please visit the ICC European Division 2 Championship website

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200