ICC Executive Board approves 14-team format for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Tue, Jun 28, 2011 10:25 PM

ICC Executive Board approves 14-team format for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
Kevin O'Brien centurion hero
The ICC Executive Board today reversed its previous decisions and approved a 14-team format for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 to be held in Australia and New Zealand and a 12-team format for the ICC World Twenty20 events in 2012 (Sri Lanka) and 2014 (Bangladesh).

The Board had previously decided in October 2010 that the ICC Cricket World Cup would comprise a 10-team event and that the ICC World Twenty20 events would involve 16 teams. In April 2011, the Board had agreed that only the Full Members would participate in 2015 and that all Members would be given an opportunity to participate in the 2019 World Cup through a qualification process.

In Hong Kong today, the ICC Executive Board opted to retain the 14-team format that was used at the highly successful and universally acclaimed ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka with the 10 Full Members being joined by four Associate or Affiliate qualifiers.

This was welcome news in Ireland and was received well by the Irish cricketing fraternity. Cricket Ireland Chief Executive Warren Deutrom, who was at the forefront of the Associate and Affiliate battle to have a World Cup qualification system.

"Obviously we are relieved with the decision today. The Board should be greatly commended in the first instance for agreeing to look again at the matter, and then for being courageous enough to review their original decision - that isn't easy.

"We can now get on and focus our energies on more proactive pursuits such as trying to qualify," said Deutrom.

Ireland all-rounder Kevin O'Brien who scored the fastest ever World Cup century, just 50 balls against England in Bangalore in 2011 explained "I think it's the right decision from ICC, not just for Ireland, but all the other 95 countries who aspire to play in World Cups. There's no doubt that it will help spread the game even further, and that's got to be good for the future of the sport," said O'Brien.

The ICC World Twenty20 in 2012 and 2014 will now remain as 12-team events (10 Full Members and two Associate/Affiliates), which has been the format for the ICC World Twenty20 events since its inception in 2007.

Following a presentation on the Reliance ICC Rankings system by statistician David Kendix, who devised and operates the system on behalf of the ICC, the Executive Board has confirmed that the Reliance ICC Rankings are suitable for use in determining qualification for ICC global events, subject to any regulatory amendments necessary to protect the integrity of the system.

In addition, the Board confirmed that the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019 would be a 10-team event with the top eight in the Reliance ICC rankings earning their qualification automatically with the remaining two places being decided by a qualification competition. The Board also confirmed the introduction of the promotion/relegation system previously agreed.

The Future Tours Programme (FTP) for the period 1 May 2012 to 30 April 2020, which was proposed by the ICC Chief Executives' Committee (CEC) on Monday, was adopted by the ICC Executive Board. It was also agreed that compensation for unequal tours would remain unchanged.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200