New England central contracts announced

Tue, Sep 13, 2011 4:26 PM

The England selectors have announced that 13 players have been awarded 12-month central contracts for the period from October 1, 2011 to September 30, 2012.

They are: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and Jonathan Trott.

Three players - Tim Bresnan, Eoin Morgan, and Chris Tremlett - have been elevated to central contracts for the first time while Paul Collingwood has not had his central contract renewed.

Incremental contracts for the forthcoming 12-month period will be finalised in due course.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "I am delighted that Tim Bresnan, Eoin Morgan and Chris Tremlett have all been awarded 12-month central contracts for the first time.

"Central contracts are designed to reward players who perform well consistently for England and all three have made significant contributions to the team's recent success in retaining the Ashes in Australia and beating Sri Lanka and India at home.

"Following his retirement from Test cricket, Paul Collingwood is no longer eligible for a 12-month central contract.

"We will determine those players eligible for incremental contracts in due course."

England central contracts

James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200