Ireland announces squad for U19 World Cup

Wed, Nov 25, 2009 6:07 PM

Ireland announces squad for U19 World Cup
Cricket Ireland has announced its squad for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup to be held in New Zealand in January 2010. Selectors have also named Andrew Balbirnie to captain the 15-man squad.

Ireland is placed in Group B of the tournament along with Australia, South Africa and USA. The top two teams from each group progress to the qualifiers while the bottom two compete in the Plate championship.

Ireland qualified for the event by winning both the European U19 Championships in Jersey and the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Canada this year.

Coach Matt Dwyer spoke to Cricdb website: "We've got a very talented group of players who have been working hard in the gym and the nets to give themselves the best possible chance. They all play at senior level in Ireland and many of them have attracted the attention of English county sides.

"They know there's the ICC Cricket World Cup coming up in the sub-continent in 2011, and a good showing in this tournament could well see them joining Paul Stirling in becoming a regular feature in the senior men's squad,"he added.

The complete squad is as follows: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Ben Ackland, Adrian D'Arcy, George Dockrell, Eddie Richardson, Graham McDonnell, Jordan Coghlan, Shane Getkate, Graeme McCarter, Lee Nelson, James Shannon, Stuart Poynter, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Craig Young.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200