Netherlands' name squad ahead of T20 tour in Caribbean

Thu, Dec 22, 2011 3:04 PM

On behalf of the selectors, Chairman Jeroen Smits has released the Netherlands' squad for the Caribbean T20 Tournament which will take place in Antigua and Barbados from 8-23 January.

The Netherlands team is grouped in Group B with Jamaica, Barbados, Combined Campuses and Sussex. Group A consists of Trinidad & Tobago, Windward Islands, Guyana, Leeward Islands and Canada. The matches can be followed on ESPN Television.

The National Coach, Peter Drinnen is excited about the tour to the Caribbean and the opportunities it can provide. "The National Squad embarks on another season that provides so much opportunity for all. In less than twelve months the squad will have to qualify for the next World Twenty 20 that will take place in Sri Lanka in September to ensure further financial gains and more quality cricket on the global stage.

"I am delighted at how the guys have been going about their work in the build up to the Caribbean tournament. It is also a real positive that we have several players joining us that have been involved in overseas competitions. One of these players is joining us for the first time, Timm van der Gugten who has just made his First Class debut for NSW in Australia.

"The proposed dates for the World T20 Qualifiers are the 13-24 March so every preparation and playing opportunity must be maximised therefore we are taking 14 players to the Caribbean given the quality of fixtures and training opportunities we will get. All are thoroughly looking forward to the next few months of intensive cricket," concluded Drinnen.

The Squad:
Wesley Barresi, Peter Borren (c), Mudassar Bukhari, Atse Buurman, Tom de Grooth,, Tim Gruijters, Timm van der Gugten, Tom Heggelman, Alexei Kervezee, Ashan Malik, Stephan Myburgh, Pieter Seelaar, Eric Szwarczynski, Michael Swart. Staff: Peter Drinnen (National Coach),
Tessa Könemann (Physio), Ed van Nierop (Manager)

The Match Schedule in the group stage:
Netherlands v Sussex at North Sound (Antigua)
January 10, 2012 (16:00 local | 20:00 GMT | 21:00 CET)
Barbados v Netherlands at North Sound (Antigua)
January 12, 2012 (20:00 local | 00:00 GMT | 01:00 CET)
Combined Campusses v Netherlands at Bridgetown (Barbados)
January 18, 2012 (16:00 local | 20:00 GMT | 21:00 CET)
Jamaica v Netherlands at Bridgetown (Barbados)
January 20, 2012 (16:00 local | 20:00 GMT | 21:00 CET)

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200