Cricket Ireland name squads for Afghanistan series

Thu, Jun 21, 2012 3:03 PM

Cricket Ireland name squads for Afghanistan series
William Porterfield and Kevin O’Brien will lead Ireland
Stuart Thompson has been added to the Ireland squad for the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship ODIs against Afghanistan at Clontarf on July 3 and 5.

The 20-year-old Limavady all-rounder has been rewarded for his fine performances with Ireland A this season, including 93 in their win against Gloucestershire and 71 in their victory over their Scottish counterparts last week.

Coach Phil Simmons said of his inclusion:"Stuart's been very impressive in the games this season and has a sound technique which will stand him in good stead at the higher level. He's also bowled pretty well at times and gives the squad plenty of options.

"These are two vital games as we look to build on the good start we've made as we attempt to qualify for the 2015 World Cup - two wins would put us in a fantastic position in the group, but we're well aware of just how dangerous a side Afghanistan can be. We've had some tremendous tussles with them over the past few years."

Ireland have also named their squad for the Intercontinental Cup game at Rathmines on July 9-12.

Kevin O'Brien will skipper a much changed Ireland in the absence of William Porterfield. Merrion all-rounder John Anderson and teenage Instonians spinner Ben Wylie are included in the senior side for the first time.

Ireland are currently top of the group on 54 points, ahead of Afghanistan in 2nd place with 37.

The squads and fixtures are as follows:

Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship squad: William Porterfield (captain) (Warwickshire), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Trent Johnston (YMCA), Ed Joyce (Middlesex), John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O’Brien (Somerset), Niall O’Brien (Northants), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Stuart Thompson (Limavady), Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (Surrey).

ICC Intercontinental Cup squad: Kevin O’Brien (captain) (Somerset), John Anderson (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), Trent Johnston (YMCA), Rory McCann (Instonians), John Mooney (North County), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Stuart Thompson (Limavady), Albert Van der Merwe (YMCA), Andrew White (Instonians), Ben Wylie (Instonians).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200