ICC European U17 Division 2 to combine both formats of the game

Fri, Jul 20, 2012 4:29 PM

Denmark, Isle of Man and Italy are the three countries that will be taking part in next week's ICC European Under-17 Division 2 tournament at the Svanholm ground in Copenhagen, it promises to be a keenly-contested competition.

The tournament will feature two different formats, with the sides meeting each other in a 50-over round robin competition before concluding with a trio of Twenty20 games on the final day.

Hosts Denmark will have the edge in experience as well as home advantage, eight of their squad having been in the side which took part in the 2010 U15 Division 1 tournament, before the Danish federation opted to develop their players through Division 2 competition.

Taking place between 23 and 26 July, the Danish side will be led by Adeel Akhtar, while two of their key bowlers may again be Mads Nyeng, the leading wicket-taker in the Netherlands two years ago, and Mati Malik. Newcomers will include Saif Ali Ahmed, at 14 the youngest player in the tournament.

Among the batsmen, Malik and keeper Mads Rasmussen were among the more successful players at Under-15 level, and the Danes will be hoping that they are able to score prolifically this time.

The Isle of Man will also bring an experienced side, including six of the squad which reached the final of the Under-15 Division 2 tournament in Italy in 2009. That group includes skipper Rowan Bird, and a solid attack comprising Matthew Ansell, Andrew Vels, Sebastian Aycock and Sam Kebbell.

The unknown quantity in the tournament will be Italy, whose entire squad will be new to European competition.

It includes five players from the Venezia club, who have been Italy?s under-15 champions for the past three seasons: Munna Ahammed, Afjal Ali, Asif Ali, Imran Khan, and Shamim Molla Mohamed, while skipper Abdullah Al Noman Chowdhury plays for Bologna.

It is a tightly-packed schedule, and the organisers, officials and players will all be hoping that the event is favoured with good weather.

The squads are as follows:

Denmark; Adeel Akhtar (Captain); Saif Ali Ahmad; Fazan Ahmed; Stig Hedevang; Mads Henriksen; Mati Malik; Mohammad Salim Mondozay; Mads T. Nyeng; Lavanish Premachandran; Mads Rasmussen; Joakim Rasmussen; Saim Saeed; Mohammed Ali Shah

Isle of Man; Rowan Bird (Captain); Matthew Ansell; Sebastian Aycock; Joseph Burrows; Brendan Coleman; Sam Kebbell; Nathan Knights; Adam Mcauley; Jack Newbery; Matthew Ogden; Ewan Quayle; Andrew Vels; Nicholas White

Italy; Abdullah Al Noman Chowdhury (Captain); Munna Ahammed; Hassan Ahmad; Afjal Ali; Asif Ali Shenal Ayeshmantha Amarakoon Mudiyanselage; Shah Rukh Ahmed Butt; Zeeshan Faiz; Imran Khan; Shamim Molla Mohamed; Md Saifur Rahaman; Anik Saiful Islam; Abdullah Syed Tauqeer

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200