Ireland name 'A' squad for Sussex clash

Mon, Sep 3, 2012 9:45 AM

James Shannon will captain Ireland 'A' in their final fixture of the 2012 season when they take on Sussex II in a three day game starting on Tuesday.

The squad has a youthful look with three of the Ireland Under 19 side which recently competed in the Under 19 World Cup in Australia named - in total nine of the squad have played for Ireland at Under 19 level.

There are first appearances at this level for Donemana opening batsman Ryan Hunter and Merrion leg spinner Alex O'Brien.

Chris Dougherty will be hoping to continue the prolific domestic form which saw him score three consecutive centuries for CIYMS in the NCU last month.

Ireland coach Phil Simmons said of the squad: "The selection of the relatively unknown Alex O'Brien may raise a few eyebrows but he's a young leg-spinner I've been watching closely. I first noticed him playing in Leinster Schools' cricket and invited him along to bowl to the senior players in the nets. Sometimes as a coach you have a hunch about players, and I have a feeling that young Alex could have what it takes to play at a higher level, bringing something different to the team.

"Ryan Hunter has impressed me every time I've seen him play. He has a sound technique and has worked hard on both his game and fitness over the past 18 months."

The Ireland 'A' squad in full is as follows:
James Shannon (captain) (Instonians), Ben Ackland (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke/Middlesex), Scott Campbell (Coleraine), Chris Dougherty (CIYMS), Phil Eaglestone (Strabane), Shane Getkate (North County), Ryan Hunter (Donemana), Lee Nelson (Waringstown), Alex O'Brien (Merrion), Stuart Poynter (MCCYC), Johnny Thompson (Brigade).

Ireland v Sussex II - Tuesday September 4 - Thursday September 6 (11am).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200