Dockrell takes Cricket Writers award

Fri, Oct 12, 2012 10:14 AM

Dockrell takes Cricket Writers award
George Dockrell has enjoyed a fantastic year Source: ICC/Getty Images
Spin bowler George Dockrell was named Player of the Year at the Cricket Writers of Ireland Annual Dinner in Malahide on Thursday night (October 11).

The 20-year-old is already an established member of the Irish national side and also made his mark on English county cricket with Somerset last summer. Dockrell's accolade goes alongside the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award he picked up in Sri Lanka last month ahead of his participation in the ICC World Twenty20.

A number of Dockrell's Ireland team-mates were also present at the event including skipper William Porterfield and Gary Wilson, fresh from the latest leg of a marathon charity bike ride.

Among the other award winners on the night was James Shannon, who was named as Young Player of the Year, while Jonny Thompson of Brigade won the Club Player of the Year award.

Paul Stirling won the Cricket Europe Ireland Award for Outstanding Performance for 2012 for his 17-ball fifty in a match-winning 79 against Afghanistan in the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier final in Dubai.

Clare Shillington was presented with a special CWI Award for Outstanding Performance from Ireland captain Isobel Joyce as the first woman to win 100 caps for Ireland in September, marking a prolific year for the right-hander.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200