'Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year' nominees announced

Thu, Oct 18, 2012 10:53 AM

James Shannon, Stuart Thompson and Max Sorensen have been revealed as the short-listed nominees for the 'Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year Award.'

The award is named in honour of the former Sunday Independent editor and cricketing enthusiast Aengus Fanning, who died earlier this year following a short illness.

22 year-old James Shannon played 10 times in the voting period scoring 356 runs at 27.38, making two half centuries. His top score of 59 came against South Africa A in the four-day game at Oak Hill.

Stuart Thompson played 13 times, scoring 340 runs at 37.78, with two half centuries. His top score of 93 came in the famous A team win against Gloucestershire 2nd XI. In addition the 21 year-old took 23 wickets at 19, with a best bowling return of 4 for 56 against Kent 2nd XI.

Max Sorensen was the leading wicket taker in the category, taking 37 wickets in his 22 appearances at an average of just 17.46. He won the Man of the Match in the ICC World Twenty20 play-off win against Namibia, a victory which secured Ireland's place in Sri Lanka.

Ireland coach Phil Simmons was fulsome in his praise for the three nominees saying: "The three guys have been excellent since their introduction into senior international cricket and acquitted themselves superbly. Their application and talent have seen them turn in valuable performances from the outset.

"James Shannon batted superbly in the games against a very strong South Africa A side, and showed just how strong his technique is. Stuart Thompson has graduated from the A ranks and proven himself capable of taking big wickets. He's also got plenty of time when batting and I'm sure the month spent in Sri Lanka will be of great benefit to his cricket. Max Sorensen has a magnificent attitude and that work ethic coupled with ability is a potent combination. I expect him to be a regular fixture in the senior ranks for many years to come."

Anne Harris, editor of the Sunday Independent said of the award; "If there was one thing which linked Aengus’s achievements in journalism and his love of cricket, it was his admiration of excellence – whether it was a beautifully crafted sentence or a powerfully struck cover drive, he could see the talent that lay behind each. He also believed in giving youth its chance, providing a platform for the start of many careers in journalism. So I think he would have been delighted to have his name associated with this award, sponsored by the Sunday Independent Cricket Society, for the international emerging player."

The inaugural RSA Cricket Ireland Awards will take place in the Round Room of the Mansion House on Friday November 16. Seats and table sales are available now, for what is a gala celebration of Irish Cricket hosted by Today FM’s Matt Cooper.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200