Club of the Year short-list announced

Wed, Oct 31, 2012 9:05 AM

Club of the Year short-list announced
Cricket Ireland have announced the four clubs short-listed for the Tildenet Club of the Year Award, which is one of eight categories in the RSA Cricket Ireland Awards night which is taking place at The Mansion House on Friday November 16th.

Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup winners The Hills have been named following their historic first win in Ireland's premier domestic cup competition. The Milverton side defeated holders Waringstown in the semi-finals before a convincing eight wicket victory in the final against 2010 winners Merrion.

Donemana enjoyed a trophy laden campaign winning four senior trophies including the NW Senior league and cup double. They also reached the semi-finals of both the Irish Senior and Ulster Cups. Success wasn't limited to just their senior ranks with the second string also completing a league and cup double and their fourth's clinching the cup. At youth level their Under 16's won the cup while the Under 15 team won the All Ireland Cup.

NCU side Muckamore were another club who enjoyed success all through their ranks, with their senior side winning the inaugural RSA National Cup as well as claiming the Ulster Shield. The second's also claimed two trophies winning the Ulster Plate and Intermediate Cup, while also gaining promotion. The third XI were promoted but were beaten finalists in the Minor Lindsay Cup, while the Midweek side just missed out in their final.

CIYMS completed the most successful season in their 136 year history which was capped by the senior side clinching their first ever Premier league title. The success filtered down the club with the second team doing the league and cup double, whilst the fourth string also tasted league glory. This success has seen a huge increase in the youth ranks at CIYMS with participation now numbering over 200, many of whom are playing the sport for the first time.

Joe Doherty, Chair of the Cricket Ireland Cricket Committee said: "The Club of the Year award is a first in Irish cricket and has rightly created a lot of interest already. This award will be celebrated by more people than any of the other awards, simply because of the fact that it is a recognition of the strength of a group of people committed to a common cause and the satisfaction of winnng the award will live long in the history of the winning club and forever in the minds of all those involved. It is fitting that there is robust competition in this inaugural year and a big night is assured on the 16th."

Seats and table sales are still available for what is a gala celebration of Irish Cricket hosted by Today FM’s Matt Cooper. For further details please visit

Below are the short-listed nominees for the various categories:

RSA International Men’s Player of the Year - George Dockrell, Ed Joyce and Paul Stirling

RSA International Women’s Player of the Year - Cecelia Joyce, Kim Garth and Clare Shillington

Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year - James Shannon, Max Sorensen, and Stuart Thompson

O'Neills Club Player of the Year - Nigel Jones, Johnny Thompson, Naseer Shaukat and John Anderson

Coach of the Year - John Wills, Kamal Merchant and Ted Williamson

Junior Player of the Year - Peter Eakin, Tyrone Kane and Jack Tector

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200