Stirling wins Irish player award

Sat, Nov 17, 2012 9:41 AM

Batsman Paul Stirling was named International Men's Player of the Year at the inaugural Cricket Ireland Awards in Dublin on Friday.

The big-hitting opener beat off competition from George Dockrell and Ed Joyce to lift the main prize at the Mansion House event.

Stirling produced a number of eye-catching innings as well as chipping in with some vital wickets during another year of progress for Irish cricket. The 22-year-old's stand-out performance came in the final of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier when he struck 79 off 38 balls against Afghanistan.

Clare Shillington beat team-mates Kim Garth and Cecelia Joyce to the International Women's Player of the Year during a year when she became the first Irish woman to win 100 caps. The 31-year-old right-hander also became the first Irish player in 14 years to score an international century when she reached three figures against Netherlands.

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Junior Player of the Year: Tyrone Kane

Coach of the Year: John Wills

Volunteer of the Year: Aideen Rice

Club of the Year: Donemana CC

Club Player of the Year: Johnny Thompson

Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year: Stuart Thompson

International Women's Player of the Year: Clare Shillington

International Men's Player of the Year: Paul Stirling

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200