ICC Europe announces ICC Europe Officials Panels for 2010

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 10:14 AM

The European Officials Selection Committee (EOSC) has this week announced the ICC Europe Officials Panel for the upcoming 2010 tournament season.

New appointments to the ICC Europe Umpire Panel include John Andrews (Ireland), Ashraf Din (Netherlands), Alex Dowdalls (Scotland), Noel McCarey (Ireland), Dermot Ward (Ireland) and James Wilson (Scotland), whilst Martin Gray (Guernsey) has been promoted to the ICC Europe Elite Umpire Panel.

Originating from eight countries including Affiliate nations such as Hellas (Greece), Norway, and Switzerland, a panel of twelve probationary Umpires, each of whom will be observed and assessed by an ICC Europe Umpire Manager during the 2010 season, has also been announced. All probationary umpires, depending on their assessment result and the number of Umpire appointments to be made in 2011, will be considered for the ICC Europe Umpires Panel at the next EOSC meeting.

For the first time, ICC Europe has also announced an official Scorers Panel after nominations were invited from across all 30 European Member Countries in December. Currently formed of 36 scorers from 13 countries, the ICC Europe Scorers Panel will continue to expand and will remain open to further nominations by country boards throughout the year.

"The new ICC Europe Scorers Panel is a fantastic new initiative for the Region and is the first of its kind within the Global Pepsi ICC Development Programme" said Richard Holdsworth, Regional Development Manager - Europe.

"In past European tournaments, scoring duties have predominantly been fulfilled by a Manager, a Coach or a Player of the team. However, as the standard of play and the pace of the game have developed in Europe, we have seen the role of the Scorer become increasingly important, to the point where it is now regarded as a key role.

"The introduction of the new ICC Europe Scorers Panel and its rigorous selection process will ensure that all scoring personnel at future European tournaments possess the high level of skill and accuracy expected of an international tournament."

ICC Europe would like to take this opportunity to thank retiring Umpire Panel Members Jim McClymont (Scotland) and Erno Ruchtie (Netherlands) as well as Elite Referee Panel Member John Boomer (Ireland) for their significant contributions towards the Pepsi ICC European Development Programme over the years. We wish them all the best for their future endeavours.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200