ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014 schedule announced

Wed, Dec 4, 2013 10:05 AM

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today released the schedule of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2014 (CWCQ), to be held in New Zealand from 13 January to 1 February 2014.

Ten sides will battle out across the North and South Islands of New Zealand for the remaining two places in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, due to be played in Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March 2015.

Over three weeks, 150 players from ICC's top Associate and Affiliate Members will take part in 34 matches - all with free admission for fans. Seeking to join Ireland and Afghanistan, who have already secured two of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015?s four qualifying places, are: Canada, Hong Kong, Kenya, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Uganda.

In the North Island, matches will be played at Mt Maunganui's Bay Oval and the iconic terraced Pukekura Park in New Plymouth. In the South Island Christchurch's Hagley Oval will debut as an international cricket venue.

Matches will also be played in Rangiora, Queenstown and Lincoln, with the Bert Sutcliffe Oval hosting the final of the tournament on 1 February.

The 10 teams have been divided into two groups of five, with the top three progressing into the Super Sixes stage of the tournament.

Speaking at the announcement of the schedule in Dunedin today, ICC President Mr Alan Isaac said: ?I am certain this is going to be a fantastic event here in New Zealand. Many of the top Associate and Affiliate Members are evenly matched and I am expecting some thrilling matches during the tournament.

"I know the teams will have some of the best facilities at their disposal here in New Zealand and this event will give the country a taste of what is to come with the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2015," he said.

"With Ireland and Afghanistan already qualified, I'm sure many of the teams competing here will be anxious to join them in the tournament and have the opportunity to perform on the global stage at the ICC's pinnacle ODI-event."

New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive David White added: "New Zealand Cricket is delighted to be hosting the ICC CWCQ 2014 and giving fans of cricket across the country an opportunity to watch some of the best 50-over cricketers outside of the Test-playing nations.

"New Zealand Cricket looks forward to welcoming all 10 sides to the country and this will be a wonderful lead-up to the ICC Cricket World Cup which we will be co-hosting with Australia in 2015. I'd like to take this opportunity to wish all the teams competing in the event the very best of luck, and may the two best sides qualify for the tournament here in 2015."

Please see the full schedule here.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200