ICC announces squads for Intercontinental Cup final

Thu, Dec 5, 2013 4:53 PM

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed Afghanistan and Ireland squads for the five-day ICC Intercontinental Cup 2011-13 final, which will start at the ICC Academy No.1 on Tuesday 10 December.

Defending champion Afghanistan will be skippered by top-order batsman Mohammad Nabi who had earlier inspired his team to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and next year’s ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

Apart from Nabi, the Afghanistan squad also includes Nawroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai, Samiullah Shenwari, Shabir Noori, Mohammad Shahzad, Afzar Zazai, Gulbodin Naib, Mohammed Nabi and Mirwais Ashraf who were members of the side that had defeated Scotland by seven wickets to win the 2010-11 tournament at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Sports City.

As for Ireland, William Porterfield will lead his side’s aspiration to set a unique record of winning three ICC tournaments of three different formats in a season or a calendar year. Ireland had won the 50-over Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship in July before it successfully retained the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier title last month.

Porterfield, who captained his side to these titles, was also at the helm of affairs when Ireland had last won the ICC Intercontinental Cup in November 2008 in Port Elizabeth by defeating Namibia by nine wickets to complete a hat-trick. The left-handed opener had also featured in Ireland’s successful campaign in 2006-07.

In addition to Porterfield, Trent Johnston will be appearing in his fourth final after being the captain when Ireland won the 2006-07 and 2007-08 tournaments.

Besides Porterfield and Johnston, the other five Ireland players who also featured in the final of the 2008-09 event in Port Elizabeth in November 2009 include John Mooney, the O’Brien brothers – Niall and Kevin, and Andrew White.

White, along with Johnston, has been part of the Ireland squads that won the tournaments in 2006-07, 2007-08 and 2008-09 and have played in all the ICC Intercontinental Cups since its inception in 2003-04.

The final between Afghanistan and Ireland will be live-streamed on the ICC’s YouTube Channel and the ICC website


Ireland (from) – William Porterfield (captain), John Anderson, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Ed Joyce, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Andrew White, Gary Wilson

Afghanistan (from) – Mohammed Nabi (captain), Mirwais Ashraf, Izzatullah Dawlatzai,
Nawroz Mangal, Gulbadin Naib, Shabir Ahmed Noori, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Samiullah Shenwari, Sayed Ahmed Shirzad, Asghar Stanikzai, Dollat Zadran, Afsar Khan Zazai, Rahmat Shah Zurmati

Umpires – Sarika Prasad and Tim Robinson (England)

Third umpire – Buddhi Pradan

Match referee - Graeme LaBrooy (Sri Lanka)

Playing hours will be (UAE time):

1st session – 1000-1200
2nd session – 1240-1440
3rd session – 1500-1700

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200