Kevin O'Brien to lead Ireland in Scotland series

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 7:45 AM

Kevin O'Brien to lead Ireland in Scotland series
Kevin O'Brien will skipper Ireland in their three match ODI series against traditional rivals Scotland in Malahide next month.

O'Brien is one of four changes to the squad which lost to Sri Lanka A last month, along with George Dockrell, Max Sorensen and John Mooney.

The Railway Union all-rounder has recently returned to Ireland from the CPL, where he played an integral role in helping T&T Red Steel reach the semi-finals.

"The focus now for the squad is very much geared towards World Cup preparation, and these three matches against Scotland are an important part of that," said O'Brien. "There are still places up for grabs and everyone's working really hard to make sure they're part of what's sure to be a fantastic event.

"Scotland are ever improving over the last few years, and have a vibrant young squad mixed in with some experienced players, like Majid Haq and Richie Berrington. Like ourselves, they will be keen to use these games as preparation for the World Cup, but most importantly we both will be looking to win, so I expect these games to be tough and closely contested.

"We've got a nice blend of youth and experience in our squad and it'll be great to meet up with them again for this series. There's more depth to our cricket now than ever before and a greater competition for places which can only be good for our cricket."

Durham wicket-keeper Stuart Poynter retains his place following a superb century against Sri Lanka A, while Gloucestershire seamer Graeme McCarter, Somerset left-arm spinner George Dockrell and Middlesex all-rounder Andrew Balbirnie are also included.

Tickets for the series are available on and at TicketMaster outlets nationwide

An adult ticket costs €10, with Senior Citizens costing €8. Entry for under 16's is free, while there is a three match special offer priced at only €20.

Ireland will embark on a month long tour of Australia and New Zealand (leaving September 23rd) where they will play 8 games - four in each country. An 18 man squad will be announced following the conclusion of the Scotland Series.


Kevin O’Brien (capt) (Railway Union), John Anderson (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), George Dockrell (Somerset), John Mooney (North County), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Gloucestershire), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Andrew White (Instonians), Craig Young (Bready).

Ireland v Scotland Three Match Series - all games at Malahide

Ireland v Scotland - Monday September 8
Ireland v Scotland - Wednesday September 10
Ireland v Scotland - Friday September 12

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200