Special recognition given to coaches in Europe

Wed, Sep 17, 2014 12:00 PM

Special recognition given to coaches in Europe
ICC Europe would like to give special recognition to the following coaches who were nominated for the ICC Europe Coach Awards:

Andrew Begg (Romania) – Introducing over 500 children to Kwik Cricket through working with schools Principals, PE teachers and parents.

Silkesh Deuchand (Portugal) – Gaining sponsorship for junior indoor tournaments after successfully coaching local school children during school hours.

Gemma Dunning (Jersey) - Leadership and development of the Women and Girls Programme within Jersey.

Andy German (France) – Superb commitment to the development of women’s cricket, having recruited, retained and developed a number of players.

Chris Guilbert (Guernsey) – Exemplary enthusiasm and passion for the game, having started as a volunteer, to head coach of the U13 representative squad via the coach education programme.

Natalie Hamblin (Scotland) – Setting up a team and getting girls to engage in cricket, as well as coaching for a women’s team and as part of the junior programme.

Lars Hedegaard (Denmark) – Dedication and passion for cricket, taking on numerous roles such as developing women’s cricket, coaching the national team and ensuring youngsters learn the “spirit of cricket”.
Michael Hingston (Ireland) – Willingness to take on numerous roles, including establishing the Coaches Association within the Northern Cricket Union, whilst maintaining a high standard throughout.

Dany Hudecek (Czech Republic) – Ongoing commitment to coaching within the Czech Republic, working with Primary Schools and developing a junior coaching programme.

Stanly Kankanamge (Italy) – Involvement in the FcrI High Performance Program and as the Women’s national team coach – winning both events thus far.

Pete Matthews (France) – Dedication to the game, as the driving force behind the reinvigoration of the entire junior development in the South West of France.

Rajesh Misca (Romania) – Having introduced over 140 children in 6 schools to Kwik Cricket, 40 of these have gone on to playing the hard ball version of the game.

Alan Patterson (Scotland) – A recent driving force behind the Eastern Knights Academy, overseeing a number of players move into national U15/17/19 set-ups.

Matthew Powell (Germany) – Tremendous commitment to improving team and personal skills, whilst active in various coaching tasks.

James Ross (Scotland) – Outstanding commitment to coaching within Scotland – being selected for the SportScotland Coach Development Programme (2014-15).

Michael Selig (France) – Continued involvement, readiness and availability for numerous roles within France Cricket.

Phil Simmons (Ireland) – Continued success with the senior men’s national team and achieving unprecedented results.

Thas Vigneswaramoorthy (Denmark) – Founder of the junior cricket team in 2007 - winning various competitions over the years – with 4 junior players moving into the national under-age set-ups.

Oscar Wanigasekera (Austria) – Instrumental in raising the level of technical skills amongst players within Austria’s new youth program.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200