Cricket Scotland win hat-trick of awards

Fri, Jan 30, 2015 2:52 PM

Cricket Scotland win hat-trick of awards
Today ICC Europe has announced the winners of the Pepsi ICC Development Awards for the Europe region, with Cricket Scotland winning a hat-trick of awards.

For the third successive year Cricket Scotland was awarded the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme Award for its work in a number of different areas.
The Summer Squad Coaching Programme was a great success which included over 3,400 sessions and 4,100 coaching hours to over 50,000 juniors across Scotland, participating in cricket through the club-school link coaching programme. The programme engages 17 development groups, over 80 clubs, over 350 schools, and over 28 local authorities.

The overall development programme also included a national schools competition which involved over 350 schools, 60 new coaches went through the new ECB certificate courses and the first `Last Man Stands` competition was started in Edinburgh.

Natalie Hamblin picked up the Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award for Scotland for her work as a coach at both junior boys and girls level, but also as a coach at her local women’s club, Galloway Ladies CC. Natalie has been instrumental in setting up a team at Castle Douglas High School and Dalbeattie High School and getting girls to engage in cricket who otherwise would never had recognised cricket as a sport to engage in.

Photo of the Year for 2014 was awarded to Ian Jacobs’ image captured at the Pepsi ICC Europe Division 2 held in Essex, England in June 2014, who has worked previously worked alongside Cricket Scotland. It captures an acrobatic catch, at one of Europe’s most important pathway events to the ICC World Twenty20.

Cricket Ireland picked up two awards, Volunteer of the Year award going to Lawrence Moore for his tireless work within the North West Cricket Union. Throughout the year Lawrence carries a multitude of duties ranging from the compiling of scorecards for the media from across the North West Union leagues, writing match reports for the local media and the NWCU website, often travelling long distances to cover games. On top of this, Lawrence is hands on when it comes to the day-to-day running of the Union, sitting on a number of NWCU committees, as well as looking after the Union's Facebook and Twitter accounts.

A special mention must also go to Karen Riordan of the Isle of Man for her endless work in organising school festivals, coordinating excellence squads, MCC tours and taking the development squad across to England for a week to compete in the Bromsgrove festival, whilst working full time as a Head teacher.

The Spirit of Cricket Award was awarded to Amy Kenealy in partnership with Cricket Leinster, South Dublin County Council and The Lords Taveners for her inclusive cricket work. Amy introduced the first Table Cricket Leader’s Course which gave the attendees an introduction to the game and an understanding of the law to adapt the game of cricket. The course empowered all Cricket Leinster Development staff and many others interested in the game to go out into the community and respective clubs and open up new opportunities to play the game of cricket for those who might not necessarily have been afforded the opportunity previously.

The posthumous Lifetime Award is an achievement dedicated to the life’s work of an outstanding individual, Keith Dennis. A long illustrious 'career' in cricket dating back to the 1950's, his role in the evolution of cricket in Jersey as one of his most rewarding achievements. As Chairman of the Jersey Cricket Board, Keith had seen Jersey play in European and global cricket tournaments in countries such as Tanzania, Nepal and Malaysia as well as Jersey becoming recognised as an outstanding venue for hosting tournaments.

All winners will now be put forward for Pepsi ICC Development Global Awards.

The winners are as follows:
Best Overall Cricket Development Programme- Cricket Scotland
Volunteer of the Year- Lawrence Moore- Cricket Ireland
Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative- Amy Kenealy- Cricket Ireland
Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’- Natalie Hamblin- Cricket Scotland
Photo of the Year- Ian Jacobs- Cricket Scotland
Lifetime Service Award- Keith Dennis- Jersey Cricket Board

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200