Cricket Ireland announce Women's Super 3s Series for 2015

Mon, Apr 20, 2015 10:04 AM

Cricket Ireland announce Women's Super 3s Series for 2015
Cricket Ireland has launched the new Women?s Super 3s Series for the 2015 season.

The new tournament will see the best players from all over Ireland competing in a three team tournament, with the top 42 female players in the country playing against each other in both 50-over and Twenty20 formats.

Previously there was a large gap between club cricket and international cricket, and the Super 3s Series, with regional funding support from ICC Europe, has been created to help bridge that gap.

The 'best vs best' format is similar to the senior men?s Inter-Provincial Series, but the three teams will not have a geographical base.

The three teams will be called the Scorchers, Typhoons and Dragons and will compete against each other over the summer to win the Super 3?s Trophy. All games will be played on weekends and Bank Holidays, using coloured clothing and a white ball.

Commenting on the new series, Cricket Ireland Performance Director, Richard Holdsworth, said: ?We feel this is an important step in the further development of the women?s game in Ireland, as well as promoting the game further to help increase participation.

?We feel the longer format of the game is important ? we play 50 over one-day international cricket, but it is also an important format to help develop the skills of players for the shorter format.

?We are aware that Cricket Leinster have previously organised the Pilkington Cup in this format, and they have encouraged us to keep this format alive. We are grateful to those clubs who previously played in the previous Leinster competition for hosting matches in the new Super 3?s. ?

There will be one table for the new competition with two points for a win in both formats, one for a tied match and no result, and none for a loss. The winner will be crowned after the final match of the season.

The squads have been selected by the national selectors and includes all those selected in winter performance and EPP squads, as well as some additional players who have not been involved in that system.

The three teams will be coached by Rob O?Connor (Dragons), Chris Siddell (Scorchers) and Matt Lunson (Typhoons), the squads below will be captained by Mary Waldron, Kim Garth and Elena Tice.

Super 3s Teams:

Dragons: Mary Waldron (c); (wkt); Laura Delany (vc); Katie Boylan; Rachel Delaney; Valmai Gee (wkt); Fiona Gill; Jennifer Gray ; Cecelia Joyce; Shauna Kavanagh; Gaby Lewis; Sophie MacMahon; Ciara Metcalfe ; Ruby Neville; Rebecca Stokell

Scorchers: Kim Garth (c); Isobel Joyce (vc); Hannah de Burgh Whyte; Pia Diepman; Hannah Grieve; Brooke Hepburn; Med Kendall (wkt); Anna Kerrison; Robyn Lewis; Hannah McKay (wkt); Lucy O'Reilly; Leah Paul; Una Raymond Hoey ; Rebecca Rolfe

Typhoons: Elena Tice (c);Clare Shillington (vc); Veronica Fay-Watt (wkt); Emma Flanagan; Vanessa Kaleda; Amy Kenealy; Tori Lapsley; Sash Maloney (wkt); Naomi Matthews; Louise McCarthy; Kate McKenna; Alison O'Reilly; Eimear Richardson ; Lucy Small

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200