Ireland name squad for UAE clash

Wed, May 20, 2015 11:55 AM

John Anderson has been named in Ireland's 14 man squad for the ICC InterContinental Cup clash against the UAE at Malahide next month.

The Merrion all-rounder replaces Alex Cusack in one of only two changes to the squad named for the abandoned one-day international against England earlier this month.

"We are all delighted to see John back in the squad," said Chairman of Selectors Alan Lewis. "John struggled with injury last year and perhaps also the hurt of not being selected, however his class was always there and his record proves it - he has come back even stronger this season which augurs well for us.

"We've decided to not include Alex Cusack in the squad with an eye to the T20 series against Scotland and also the T20 World Cup Qualifying tournament. Alex is such a vital player for us in the format, and we've got to manage his workload accordingly."

Tim Murtagh has been named in the squad despite his recent hamstring injury, with the Middlesex man expected to be fit for the crucial opener.

"We understand that Tim is progressing well and to be honest we really hope he makes it in time," said Lewis.

"He has had a torrid time with injury over the last few months and is itching to get back. Everyone surrounding the team would wish him well in that department."

Max Sorensen has been placed on stand-by should Murtagh be declared unavailable for the encounter against the Emiratis.

The four-day game takes place at Malahide from June 2-5 (11am). It will be Head Coach John Bracewell's first game in charge of Ireland. The InterContinental Cup competition has added significance this time as the winners will play the bottom ranked full-member in a four Test Challenge.

Ireland have won the competition a record four times and are the current defending champions.


William Porterfield (captain), (Warwickshire), John Anderson (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), George Dockrell (Somerset), Ed Joyce (Sussex), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union), Niall O’Brien (Leicestershire), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200