Ireland name squads for ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier and Scotland series

Mon, Jun 1, 2015 10:04 AM

Ireland name squads for ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier and Scotland series
Cricket Ireland have announced their squads for the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier and the three match T20 International series against Scotland.

Merrion all-rounder Tyrone Kane has been named in both squads after a series of impressive performances in the Hanley Energy IP T20 Trophy.

The 20 year-old took a hat-trick in the competition opener against the Northern Knights and followed it up with a five wicket haul against the North West Warriors.

"Tyrone is an exciting young talent who deserves his chance," said Ireland Head Coach John Bracewell. "He's very much an impact player as shown by his performances in the T20 games this season.

"The World Cup Qualifier squad has a nice blend of youth and experience despite the retirements of Ed Joyce and Tim Murtagh last week. There have been a lot of match winning efforts by our guys in the T20 Blast in England too, so everyone looks to be in really fine form going into these games."

Bracewell admitted it was a tough decision to leave out Max Sorensen and Andrew Poynter from the World Cup Qualfiying squad: "It certainly was a very hard decision to omit the two guys and they are naturally disappointed. They are included in the Scotland series, so they have a chance to impress should they be needed in case of injuries during the qualifiers."

The call-up was fantastic news for Tyrone Kane who spoke of his delight at being included in both squads: "It's a dream come true for me. It's a great honour for me and my club Merrion, and I am looking forward to contributing. I've worked very hard on my game and this is a great reward.

"It should be a tough series against Scotland and ideal preparations for the qualifiers which follow. It's going to be an intense period for all the squad, but hopefully we'll have secured qualification for another T20 World Cup at the end of it."

Kevin O'Brien skippers Ireland in the Scotland series, with William Porterfield unavailable. Gary Wilson and Niall O'Brien also have county commitments so Durham keeper Stuart Poynter will don the gloves.

"The three game series against Scotland will provide a tough work-out for the squad ahead of the qualifying competition," said Bracewell. "I know all too well about local rivalries and bragging rights, so I'm certain the matches against Scotland will be incredibly competitive - but that's just what we need."

Further details on fixtures and ticketing arrrangements can be found on the Cricket Ireland website and TicketMaster outlets nationwide.

World T20 Qualifier squad (July 6-26)

William Porterfield (capt) (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).

Scotland T20I series (June 18, 19, and 21 at Bready CC)

Kevin O'Brien (capt) (Railway Union), Andrew Balbirnie* (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell* (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter* (Durham), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Paul Stirling* (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Craig Young (Bready).
*All county contracted players are subject to release by their respective counties, and some will be available for one or two matches only.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200