Cricket Scotland claims top prize in ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015

Tue, Apr 26, 2016 3:18 PM

Cricket Scotland claims top prize in ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015
Cricket Scotland has taken the top prize in the annual ICC Development Programme Awards 2015, claiming the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme Award.

Cricket Scotland’s Development Programme continues to go from strength to strength, growing cricket across the country with a number of innovate new programmes introduced in 2015. These programmes includes Thriving Clubs which provides hands on professional support from experts to cricket clubs, the expansion of Last Man Stands across Scottish cities and the first Cricket Force scheme, which was launched in conjunction with Jewson to help improve facilities in local communities.

The Lifetime Service Award was won by Jim Bennett for his dedication to the administration of youth cricket in Ireland. Mr Bennett sits on the Executive Committee for Cricket Leinster, the group tasked with the running and administration of the club game in the province of Leinster. Mr Bennett is also heavily involved in his club side the Hills as role of Club President – a position he has held with distinction for the last 15 years.

Competition for the Spirit of Cricket Award was high with Vanuatu and Malaysia being named as the joint winners. Vanuatu was recognised for its Women’s Island Cricket Programme which assisted with clean-up efforts at the back of the destruction caused by Cyclone Pam in March 2015. Malaysia was named co-winners, thanks to its Bat for Nepal fundraising match which generated thousands of dollars for Nepal following the earthquake in April 2015.

Rwanda Cricket Association has picked up the Image of the Year award for its photo capturing cricket development at a coaching clinic in Rwanda.

Other winners were Ivan Thawithemwira of the Uganda Cricket Association, who won the Volunteer of the Year award, thanks to his contribution to cricket development in the Western Uganda district of Fort Portal, and Gemma Dunning from the Jersey Cricket Board, who won the Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ award for her work to inspire more girls to take part in sport through the vehicle of cricket called Crick-Fit @ The Beach.

The judging panel for these awards featured ICC Chairman Mr Manohar and President Mr Zaheer Abbas.

ICC’s Head of Global Development Tim Anderson said: “I’m very happy to congratulate and recognise the 2015 winners of the ICC Development Awards who all demonstrate a great amount of dedication and enthusiasm to grow our great sport across the globe.

“These awards are very important in identifying individuals and programmes which are helping the game of cricket grow in emerging nations.”

All ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015 winners receive a cricket equipment grant to its national cricket body.

The prizes are as follows:

• Best Overall Cricket Development Programme ($5,000)
• Lifetime Service Award ($2,000)
• Volunteer of the Year ($2,000)
• Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award ($2,000)
• Spirit of Cricket Award ($2,000)
• Image of the Year ($2,000)

The 2015 winners are:

• Best Overall Cricket Development Programme – Scotland
• Lifetime Service Award - Ireland
• Volunteer of the Year - Uganda
• Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award - Jersey
• Spirit of Cricket Award – Vanuatu and Malaysia
• Image of the Year – Rwanda

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200