Europe wins four Pepsi ICC Global Development Awards

ICC Media Release
Tue, Mar 2, 2010 9:59 AM

Cricket Ireland, Israel Cricket Association and Deutsche Cricket Bund have won a record four awards at the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2009 it was announced today.

Ireland were double winners receiving awards in the Volunteer of the Year Award category which went to Jim Bennett for his dedication and contribution to the game and The Photo of the Year; taken by Rob O'Connor. The photo captures the match winning run-out and is a great illustration of the passion and promise of youth cricket.

Cricket Ireland President Arthur Vincent paid tribute to both saying: "This is great news for Irish cricket and I am delighted for both winners. Jim Bennett is a dedicated and tireless volunteer for Irish youth cricket. He is quite simply a fantastic servant to the cause of cricket in the country and the award is richly deserved."

"Rob O'Connor is involved with Irish cricket at many levels, and is a superb photographer. His image captures for me the essence and the sheer exuberance and enjoyment of young cricketers playing the game."

"It is a great honour for both to have won these prestigious awards and a marvelous reflection on the healthy standard of cricket here."

This was followed by the Israel Cricket Association winning the Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative in partnership with UNAIDS and UNICEF for their programme which promoted co-existence and tolerance amongst those caught up in the Isreal-Arab conflict in the Negev Desert.

Stanley Perlman, President of the Israel Cricket Association says: "The ICA is very honoured to receive this prestigious ICC Global Award. Much effort has gone into our programme with the Bedoum community introducing a brand new sport to them and encouraging social interaction between Jewish and Bedouin children."

The fourth award went to Deutsche Cricket Bund who picked up the Best Women's Cricket Initiative award for 2009.

ICC Regional Development Manager- Europe, Richard Holdsworth congratulated all winners: "This a fantastic achievement for the Europe region, to win a record four awards at the Global awards proves how much excellent development work all the countries are doing and how far we have come.

"Cricket Ireland, Deutsche Cricket Bund and Israel Cricket Association should be very proud of their achievements; however so should all countries in what was a great 2009."

This year's judging panel featured current ICC President David Morgan, alongside former ICC presidents Ehsan Mani, Malcolm Gray and Ray Mali. Keith Bradshaw, the Secretary and Chief Executive of Marylebone Cricket Club, completed the line-up.

Other winners this year include Binaya Raj Pandey, President of the Cricket Association of Nepal, was this year's recipient of the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Lifetime Service award while Namibia's cricket development programme took the top prize of Best Overall Cricket Development Programme at the awards which coincided with ICC's centenary year. Cricket PNG for the Best Promotion and Marketing Programme. PNG staged the terrific Pacific MMI Don't Drink and Drive Legend Event, with six former Australian international's leading a side each in the Twenty20 carnival.

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200