Ireland A announce training squad and 2010 fixtures

Tue, Mar 2, 2010 6:01 PM

Ireland A announce training squad and 2010 fixtures
Cricket Ireland this morning announced details of the Ireland A training squad, and their confirmed fixtures for 2010 to date.

Recently retired senior international batsman Jeremy Bray has been chosen as captain for the squad, with Senior international coach Phil Simmons keen to utilise his considerable experience with what is primarily a very youthful squad.

Simmons outlined his thoughts on the composition of his squad saying, "I want to keep Jeremy involved even though he's hung up his boots in terms of the senior squad, and he's keen to get involved on the coaching side of things. Adi Birrell will be in charge of the squad for most but not all of the games and he'll be helped out by Mark Garaway, who is our cricket Operations Director. We will use other coaches as and when we identify a need for them."

"We are trying to ensure our young players get as much cricket as possible, and as well as taking part in the European Championships in The Netherlands in July, we have secured three day games against Sussex, Hampshire and the MCC. These longer format games will help the players develop their skills and will be a great help in their cricketing education."

The squad in full is as follows:

Jeremy Bray (Captain) (The Hills), Andy Balbirnie (Pembroke), Andy Britton (Fox Lodge), Jordan Coghlan (Clontarf) George Dockrell (Leinster), Chris Dougherty (Bready), Phil Eaglestone (Strabane), Shane Getkate (Malahide), James Hall (Waringstown), Nigel Jones (Civil Service North), Gary Kidd (Waringstown), Fintan McAllister (Malahide), Rory McCann (Instonians), Graham McDonnell (Pembroke), Niall Mc Donnell (Strabane), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Eddie Richardson (North County), James Shannon (Instonians), Reinhardt Strydom (YMCA), Albert van der Merwe (The Hills), Craig Young (Bready).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200