Ireland announces squad for Scotland clash

Sun, Aug 2, 2009 12:29 AM

Ireland announces squad for Scotland clash
Cricket Ireland has made one change to its squad for the crucial ICC Intercontinental Cup match against Scotland in Aberdeen.

17-year-old seam bowler Shane Getkate has been called up to replace Peter Connell, due to the fast bowler's disappointing attitude.

"From my point of view his attitude has dropped as far as the team and the game is concerned. I need to see that he's back to where he was at towards the beginning of last year. I want people to realise just how nice it is to be involved with this squad and not take it for granted" said coach Phil Simmons on the Cricket Ireland website.

Ireland will once again be captained by Kyle McCallan, with county players William Porterfield, Niall O'Brien and Boyd Rankin unavailable for the tie.

The squad in full is as follows:

Kyle McCallan (Captain) (Waringstown), Andre Botha (North County), Jeremy Bray (The Hills), Andrew Britton (Fox Lodge), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), Shane Getkate (Malahide), Trent Johnston (Railway Union), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Paul Stirling (Carrickfergus), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Regan West (CSN), Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (Surrey).

ICC Europe Members

Follow ICC EUROPE on

ICC Europe on Facebook


Latest News

ICC Regions


ICC Europe
The England and Wales Cricket Board,
Lord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood
London, NW8 8QZ.
Tel: + 44 (0)20 7432 1200